PDA

View Full Version : box builders please read...



michaellane
08-27-2009, 12:58 PM
well my box will be 31' length, 20' deep and 14.5' tall

i am using one 6' aero port. my question is to get it tuned to 36hertz how long should it be? right at about 11'? second question is can the port be half in and out the box? thrid question is how do i secure it if its not flat against the box on either side???

i got the one from partsexpress if that matters?

oh and my box will have two subs up on top firing towards the trunk lid and 2 subs firing back towards the back of the car/ where the trunk opens. will this matter?

car is 2002 honda accord

James Bang
08-27-2009, 01:00 PM
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp#por

James Bang
08-27-2009, 01:01 PM
also, don't forget about the displacement of the port, sub, and thickness of the walls.

Pioneer~Saturn
08-27-2009, 01:11 PM
Yes, 11" would be right about where you'd want to be to get 36hz

BobbyDD
08-27-2009, 01:15 PM
well my box will be 31' length, 20' deep and 14.5' tall


That's a big *** box yo.

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:16 PM
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp#por

this calc tells me that 11' will tune my box to 33hertz...so is it 11' or 9'?

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:16 PM
That's a big *** box yo.

4.3 cubes....changed depth to 21'

BobbyDD
08-27-2009, 01:18 PM
'=feet
"=inches

Pioneer~Saturn
08-27-2009, 01:19 PM
this calc tells me that 11' will tune my box to 33hertz...so is it 11' or 9'?

with all displacements factored in you'll want around 11" long

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:19 PM
also can the port be out of the box some? or does it need to be all the way in or out not in the middle?

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:20 PM
with all displacements factored in you'll want around 11" long

putting 2 subs in one place and the other 2 in a different place does that mess anything up?

Pioneer~Saturn
08-27-2009, 01:20 PM
also can the port be out of the box some? or does it need to be all the way in or out not in the middle?

Yes, it can be completely outside of the enclosure if you wish...but then it wont take up space inside your enclosure so tuning will change if you keep the length the same, it would then need to be around 9" like you asked before because the airspace would be larger inside and make up for the shorter port


putting 2 subs in one place and the other 2 in a different place does that mess anything up?

Nope, spec-wise it wont effect it...on the meter it could effect things quite a bit depending on where subs/ports are placed

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:23 PM
Nope, spec-wise it wont effect it...on the meter it could effect things quite a bit depending on where subs/ports are placed

port will be a blow thru. i am trying to get it to go thru the skipass hole in the rear seats. and subs will be in the trunk completely...get what im saying?

Pioneer~Saturn
08-27-2009, 01:26 PM
Having it setup like that, with the subs in the trunk and the port firing directly into the cabin, wouldn't be the best choice imo...a 4th-order bp would work well for this though because everything would be going forward

amartin_72
08-27-2009, 01:26 PM
Depending on the power you have you might want another 6 or an 8" aero instead. Both give you about 50 sq inches of port area, the single 8 would have the least port wall area. With a single 6 thats only 6.5 inches of port area per cube.

Pioneer~Saturn
08-27-2009, 01:27 PM
Depending on the power you have you might want another 6 or an 8" aero instead.

I was about to suggest more port area too. x2

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:32 PM
well i already ordered the 6' aero and it just arrived like 6 minutes ago...i suppose i can always add another one down the road if need be. but i don t really have any other options as far as doing a blow thru without subs firing in trunk....but please give me some ideas please!

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:33 PM
also my aim is to just have a loud daily beater...

michaellane
08-27-2009, 01:47 PM
soo

dappa5
08-27-2009, 09:04 PM
sooo? lol

send me all info i'll plot it and see what you need to add if anything

jdawg
08-27-2009, 09:16 PM
1 6" port? not enough, also you said its around 4cubes for 4 12s? Seems pretty small

Pioneer~Saturn
08-29-2009, 12:23 PM
Honestly, more port area and doing a 4th order would be the best bet so your subs arent just in the trunk firing back there...with a 4th order sealed off around the ski-pass everything would be firing forwards