PDA

View Full Version : What to do with the wires?



SomeGuyDude
08-26-2009, 03:51 PM
Okay, pre-fab boxes always have that fancy-dan wire terminal doohickey on them, the little black recessed piece of plastic with metal screws or whatever to jam the wires into. QLogic's are especially nice because they have the red/black flip pieces.

So my question is, what do you guys do? In my old box the wires just came straight out of the port but that was ugly as all hell. So where could I get the plastic bit, or is there an alternate solution?

Johnny Law.Lulz
08-26-2009, 03:51 PM
parts-express.com

jmkanek
08-26-2009, 03:52 PM
get ya some threaded brass rods, and just drill ya a couple holes, and use washers and nuts.

xxxbasshead
08-26-2009, 03:53 PM
they sell the terminal cups at any audio website or use a bolt in the back of the box one for + one for -

FurbiesAndBeans
08-26-2009, 03:54 PM
You can always go to a local shop that makes boxes and they'll sell u some

davidfre21
08-26-2009, 03:55 PM
i just drill a hole through the box and seal them through it

SomeGuyDude
08-26-2009, 03:58 PM
So would this work all right then?

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_4929_Square+Subwoofer+-+Speaker+Terminal+Cup+TCS.html

I admit it looks odd to me. I don't see quite how the wires would attach, but I guess that's for the shop to worry about, lol

phemps
08-26-2009, 04:25 PM
the terminals probably unscrew which backs it out enough to reveal a hole the wire is placed in then screwed back down

groundpound4200
08-26-2009, 05:03 PM
if you go with the threaded rod method you can rewire your subs without taking them out of the box :fyi:

tylork92
08-26-2009, 05:10 PM
just drill a whole and use silicone to seal around the wires.

SomeGuyDude
08-26-2009, 05:12 PM
if you go with the threaded rod method you can rewire your subs without taking them out of the box :fyi:

You can do what with a where now?

dappa5
08-26-2009, 09:14 PM
dude you are way over thinking this just use bolt method no chance for leak
some times term cup leak or rattle and if wire get pulled sometimes silicone can become dislodged and hole leaks (albeit very little /but leak) use bolts/ threaded rod just do not use galvinized

jake760
08-27-2009, 11:50 PM
I've always drilled a hole, sealed the wires with silicone and tied a knot in the wires on the inside so they can't get pulled. The bolt method does sound good though.

DNick454
08-28-2009, 03:09 AM
Terminal cups are made with the shittiest materials imaginable and accept very small gauge wire usually. The actual contact surface (the metal on the terminal) isn't even copper or brass for that matter (unless you buy the nice brass or gold plated binding posts on PE). It's usually the cheapest metal the factory in china could find :laugh:

Take your nice fat wire, and run it straight to the subs via a hole in the back of the box. Put a dab of silicone around the wire in the hole to make it airtight (terminal cups leak FYI). Now you have a solid connection second to none and it's completely airtight as well as hidden and out of the port. The next best option is a brass threaded bolt as a binding post and criming on wire-end rings and screwing them down onto the post with a nut. Still use a bit of silicone to make sure the bolt hole is air-tight but don't get any between the ring terminals so you get a good connection.

dappa5
08-28-2009, 09:22 AM
http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv50/DAPPA5/DSC00775.jpg

Engine_hp
08-28-2009, 09:49 AM
dappa5 u copy cat

http://i30.tinypic.com/2r73913.jpg

http://i29.tinypic.com/28gyw0i.jpg

http://i27.tinypic.com/2hofeo9.jpg

btw box was designed by dappa5

plugitin
08-28-2009, 10:42 AM
people have gained deebeez by removing the wire from the port and drilling a hole and running them that way.