PDA

View Full Version : box for 2 18" AQ HDC3's



lowrnu
08-25-2009, 11:39 PM
i just got these subs in and im gunna build my box in the next few weeks and i was wondering if i could get some help on the design? Its gunna be a full wall in a 94 chevy ext cab silverado. i did a quick few measurements and its gunna need to be roughly 58" long, 36" high, and 22" deep. The length is maximum,i can go up to 40" in the height, and prob get a few more inches in depth. My measurements is what i thought would be ideal if that would give me enough cubic ft. As far as tuning i mainly listen to rap and dont care to much about sound quailty i just want it loud but still sound decent. I dont mind paying someone to help me out just shot me a pm and we can talk Thanks

mlstrass
08-26-2009, 10:15 AM
how much power you have for them? 10-12cubes will work, tuned around 36-38Hz

lowrnu
08-26-2009, 01:37 PM
gunna be using a audiopipe 3000... i emailed AQ and they said 6 cubes per sub net, and tuned to 36

mlstrass
08-27-2009, 11:01 AM
gunna be using a audiopipe 3000... i emailed AQ and they said 6 cubes per sub net, and tuned to 36

that design should pound the lows...

dappa5
08-27-2009, 07:55 PM
hit me up i'll design it for you model it and provide cut/assembly sheets
lmk

iamamp3pimp
09-02-2009, 06:58 PM
time to get to work.


Sorry about the delay.

dappa5
09-02-2009, 07:00 PM
time to get to work.


Sorry about the delay.
it's ok robin no-one missed you lol

lowrnu
09-02-2009, 07:04 PM
No problem I start a weeks vacation friday so that's when I planned on starting on it

iknownothin2006
09-02-2009, 07:07 PM
hmm cant wait for the build AP/AQ lol could be a cute couple

lowrnu
09-02-2009, 07:13 PM
I sure hope so... My wife said the amp showed up 2day, what do you guys think I will need as far as the electrical go's? I'm gunna do the big 3 but I'm just not sure what else I'm gunna need

dappa5
09-02-2009, 07:21 PM
alot of 0 gauge lol

snb778
09-02-2009, 07:24 PM
im surprised they recommended 6cu. ft per sub!

iamamp3pimp
09-02-2009, 07:35 PM
why?

ive done bigger and smaller, 6 isnt a bad starting point.

Buck
09-02-2009, 07:38 PM
12 cubes. I would go slightly larger than that, say 14 cubes.

Go out on a limb, tune to 30 hz :)

RAM_Designs
09-02-2009, 07:40 PM
12 cubes. I would go slightly larger than that, say 14 cubes.

Go out on a limb, tune to 30 hz :)

How dare you suggest tuning that low...you know that they're super specially designed to hit the lows like no other sub while being tuned at 40hz.

RAM_Designs
09-02-2009, 08:06 PM
mine were in over 10cf each @ 41.7 hz....LOL

I bet you were able to fit a ton of port with those specs.

iamamp3pimp
09-02-2009, 08:12 PM
got something interesting going....hate the fact that the port must bend.....but there should be zero dead space in this one....


sitting at 11.7 cubes after displacements...tuned to 36 ish so far....

dappa5
09-02-2009, 08:14 PM
got something interesting going....hate the fact that the port must bend.....but there should be zero dead space in this one....


sitting at 11.7 cubes after displacements...tuned to 36 ish so far....
good dude here ^^^ he don't kno chit about design but good dude
lol nah j/k

iamamp3pimp
09-02-2009, 08:23 PM
how much deeper can you go?

2 inches would help out quite a bit

iamamp3pimp
09-02-2009, 08:26 PM
im headed out, OP give me a call/text with the answer to that question.

snb778
09-02-2009, 08:29 PM
thats a lottttttttttta port!!

lowrnu
09-02-2009, 08:44 PM
I'll go look real quick...i forgot to save your number please pm me:crap:

Buck
09-02-2009, 08:58 PM
How dare you suggest tuning that low...you know that they're super specially designed to hit the lows like no other sub while being tuned at 40hz.

Well it sure as hell can't hit highs at 30 hz, but consequently my truck is beginning to fall apart.


540sq inches or so.

box was actually 26cf gross 22cf net.i was able to pull a 148 on 2400rms total in an undeadend cargo van.it was ok for a $750 sub-stage and one of the loudest in my area.

heres a pic of the enclosure 90% finished

http://i560.photobucket.com/albums/ss45/soundaround/Picture001-3.jpg

Dude, no competition from me, but I hit a 148.2 with a single hdc318 in a strictly SQ box off of a nine.1 with no deadning, no anything besides a sub and an amp. You should hit much more than 148 with that, I would think.

power-fanatic07
09-02-2009, 09:51 PM
holy port

RAM_Designs
09-02-2009, 10:19 PM
Well it sure as hell can't hit highs at 30 hz, but consequently my truck is beginning to fall apart.


How high do you have it crossed? I don't see any reason for it to be crossed higher than 60-65hz, depending on how well your midbass can keep up.