PDA

View Full Version : 4 12's. Budget build. Need some box help please.



pntbllwlly
08-25-2009, 07:10 PM
Okay. First off, im doing a budget build, with 4 Hifonics hfi12s4's.

Not the best woofers out there, i know, i just wanna see what i can do with them since i already have 2 from a while back.

I was looking to do a box like this:
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=345189

I have a 1998 Dodge Intrepid (**** load of trunk), with the back seats down so i would have the port/opening/subs facing the cab, obviously.

Questions:
1) Should i do box like that? (Idek what type that is, blowthrough?)
OR
- 4 12's up firing, in a 7cu.ft box. With (im thinking) 2 6" Aero's@32hz (Maybe more?)

2) If i do choose to do the "blowthrough" how do i go about designing it? (I am up for paying for designs)

Thanks fellas.

PS. Ive searched.

adas
08-25-2009, 11:12 PM
do a 4th order seats down into the cabin. with a good deisgn its pure win.

spencer321
08-25-2009, 11:15 PM
if you've got 7 cubes gross... you don't have enough room to port those subs.

jdawg
08-26-2009, 12:07 AM
I have a pair in 4.5, was gonna buy 2 more, i would make sure you have more like 8-10 cubes after displacements

pntbllwlly
08-26-2009, 08:06 AM
do a 4th order seats down into the cabin. with a good deisgn its pure win.

That crossed my mind also. How many cu.ft would i need for a 4th?


if you've got 7 cubes gross... you don't have enough room to port those subs.

Good point. Even though the displacement of these subs is pretty small.

Thats why with 7cu i wanted to do aeros.

But i can get 8-10cu.ft easily. I just want some trunk space...

basshedz06
08-27-2009, 07:16 AM
well i have a pair of 10's in a 3 cube box after displacement an they do fine, but if you wanna hit those lows with authority you will need some space an i think 7 is good man i mean guys come on these are 12's not 15's, i can put 3 15's in a 7 cube box an play daily all year. i personally think that 7 cubes will be enough for what you want to do but if you want to go bigger by all means do it but don't forget you got batts an amps to worry about too.

iamamp3pimp
08-27-2009, 07:26 AM
for a 4th...more than 7, but how much power do you have?

pntbllwlly
08-27-2009, 02:54 PM
for a 4th...more than 7, but how much power do you have?

cadence txa3002.

600x1@4

Giving each sub ~150rms.

I will probably run an AP1500d a week-2 weeks after running that^^ amp with the 12's.