PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer HU with volt meter



tr10av
08-24-2009, 10:20 PM
Anyone know how accurate the volt meters built into HUs are? The one on my 7700mp seems to be pretty good when compared to my dmm but I don't know how accurate that is either.

mazda6i07
08-24-2009, 10:21 PM
i know the 880prs has one built in. Not sure on accuracy, mine is fairly close.

WrenchGuy
08-24-2009, 10:23 PM
Some say its off.

I ran power and ground from the HU right to the battery. Its as accurate as my DMM.

ejschultz
08-24-2009, 10:36 PM
Pioneer has a disclaimer in the owner's manual for the HUs that have it saying it may not be 100% accurate. I haven't really seen any discrepancies with mine.

tr10av
08-25-2009, 12:23 AM
Good to know. Don't want to always have to whip out the DMM if its not necessary.

ejschultz
08-25-2009, 04:25 PM
Mine seems to be accurate within a 10th of a volt. That's probably because there's a voltage drop between the battery, fuse boxes, and the HU.