PDA

View Full Version : ACC Turn On Not Working



Boomboy
08-24-2009, 08:36 PM
this is the second deck i have tried so its not the deck, everything is hooked up correctly, the accessory turn on doesnt work though, when i put the acc to the power it works, but when hooked up to just the acc it doesnt work, this is annoying as hell because it resets itself evertime the car is shut off...what could be the issue

jdawg
08-24-2009, 08:42 PM
sure you dont have the wires baxkwards?

hornedfrog1985
08-24-2009, 08:44 PM
Check your fuse for that ACC wire.

22mountaineer
08-24-2009, 08:44 PM
Plug in the Antenna

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 08:46 PM
sure you dont have the wires baxkwards?

nope...it only works when both the power and acc are twisted together...

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 08:47 PM
Check your fuse for that ACC wire.
checked and its fine

Plug in the Antenna

:wow:

22mountaineer
08-24-2009, 08:47 PM
Did you do what I said?

ACT Audio
08-24-2009, 08:51 PM
what kind of vehicle?

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 08:53 PM
Did you do what I said?

yep, nothin

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 08:54 PM
what kind of vehicle?

1992 honda civic dx

hornedfrog1985
08-24-2009, 08:54 PM
Check the ACC wire with a dmm.

ACT Audio
08-24-2009, 08:57 PM
On the honda civic there are 2 fuses for the radio, on says radio and the other says cig or acc pwr. Check all fuses in fuse box in kick panel. You will find 1 bad one there usually a 10a or 15a. Use a DMM or Testlight on both sides to determine which fuse is bad. fuse may look good but still be bad.

Is there anything else in the car not working?

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 09:02 PM
Check the ACC wire with a dmm.

12.6 with car off and 13.9 with the car on...it gets power when the acc it tuned on...no power when car is completely off

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 09:03 PM
On the honda civic there are 2 fuses for the radio, on says radio and the other says cig or acc pwr. Check all fuses in fuse box in kick panel. You will find 1 bad one there usually a 10a or 15a. Use a DMM or Testlight on both sides to determine which fuse is bad. fuse may look good but still be bad.

Is there anything else in the car not working?

not that i can see, thats the wierd thing...will test later, gonna eat soon, results in a bit

22mountaineer
08-24-2009, 09:05 PM
Check your antenna again ;)

ACT Audio
08-24-2009, 09:06 PM
if it has no power when off, then its the radio fuse. bet ur interior lights wont work either if its the 12v wire (yellow)

hornedfrog1985
08-24-2009, 09:06 PM
The ACC wire isn't supposed to be hot when it's turned off the Acc or On position. It's not a 12 volt constant.

This thread is confusing.

ACT Audio
08-24-2009, 09:09 PM
The ACC wire isn't supposed to be hot when it's turned off the Acc or On position. It's not a 12 volt constant.

This thread is confusing.

true, but he said it goes from 12.6 in ACC to 13.8 running to OFF with no key. Thats the 12v wire. probably popped the 7.5A under the hood. Replace it with a 10A and ur good. Good Luck

22mountaineer
08-24-2009, 09:11 PM
How is that the 12v (constant hot) wire when it cuts off?

ACT Audio
08-24-2009, 09:24 PM
no the problem is the 12v wire i"m saying

hornedfrog1985
08-24-2009, 09:26 PM
12.6 with car off and 13.9 with the car on...it gets power when the acc it tuned on...no power when car is completely off

You need to be more specific in what you're saying.

What I'm getting from this is that the deck doesn't turn on when you have the car off, and not in the ACC position in the ignition???? Or what?

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 09:27 PM
true, but he said it goes from 12.6 in ACC to 13.8 running to OFF with no key. Thats the 12v wire. probably popped the 7.5A under the hood. Replace it with a 10A and ur good. Good Luck

sorry i made that confusing, when there is no key with nothing on it is not hot, when i turn to acc with the key it sits at 12.x, the 13.9 was with the car turned on, not really a factor so i shouldnt have said it in the first place, sorry for the confusion

22mountaineer
08-24-2009, 09:29 PM
What about the yellow wire>

22mountaineer
08-24-2009, 09:31 PM
no the problem is the 12v wire i"m saying

Would make sense considering he keeps having to reset the settings

hornedfrog1985
08-24-2009, 09:35 PM
Would make sense considering he keeps having to reset the settings

Didn't even catch it. Then yeah, it would have to be the constant. That's the memory wire. (the one that keeps your settings)

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 09:44 PM
Didn't even catch it. Then yeah, it would have to be the constant. That's the memory wire. (the one that keeps your settings)

all fuses are good, the constant being the 12v wire(yellow) how else could it be messed up, i fused after the problem occured(the problem being cutting the wires when they were hot and then spark, my fault)

hornedfrog1985
08-24-2009, 09:45 PM
Maybe it's not a good connection on the wire. Does it have any voltage going to it?

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 10:41 PM
true, but he said it goes from 12.6 in ACC to 13.8 running to OFF with no key. Thats the 12v wire. probably popped the 7.5A under the hood. Replace it with a 10A and ur good. Good Luck

thanks to this post i got it working, got it all wired and all is well, thank you so very much, only problem is when i extended the wiring harness i made it too long, no the deck wont fit far enough into the cage to lock, i will have to re wire it tomorrow, oh joy, atleast i got my main problem solved

hornedfrog1985
08-24-2009, 10:52 PM
So it was the fuse under the hood then?

Boomboy
08-24-2009, 11:47 PM
So it was the fuse under the hood then?

yes sir!

ACT Audio
08-25-2009, 07:13 AM
glad to see you fixed it. Good Luck with install.

Boomboy
08-25-2009, 04:08 PM
glad to see you fixed it. Good Luck with install.

thanks:D