PDA

View Full Version : Is this pushing it for three HDC3's ?



95Prober
08-23-2009, 06:32 AM
Hey guys, thinking on possibly picking up 3 HDC3 12" subs for my hatchback.
Biggest possible box I can fit in there is a 34x32x14 which gives me 7.17 cu.ft
before taking into account the port space and subs displacement

I know Id be ok with two, but like to possibly try 3.
I was looking at maybe two 15" Audioques, but I dont have the width or box space.

what do you think?? I dont wanna damage anything by limited air space, but I think the 12" HDC3 can go down to at least a 2.0 cu.ft box. I think thats what I read

spencer321
08-23-2009, 04:00 PM
if you go with 2 6" aero ports you can get away with it, the port displacement would be .44 ft^3 with 2 6" aero ports tuned to 38hz at 13.5" long for 6 cubes net. leaves you with .75 ft^3for subwoofer displacement and bracing... should be more than enough

mlstrass
08-23-2009, 04:03 PM
if you go with 2 6" aero ports you can get away with it, the port displacement would be .44 ft^3 with 2 6" aero ports tuned to 38hz at 13.5" long for 6 cubes net. leaves you with .75 ft^3for subwoofer displacement and bracing... should be more than enough

x2

how much power you plan to have for the subs? If you end up on the smaller side with the enclosure throw a little more power at them if possible...

kfx450r
08-23-2009, 04:12 PM
I think youd be ok. Also not sure if you only want these but ive heard the sundown nightshade 15s can work well in a 3 cube box so im sure the 12s can perform great in something that size.

95Prober
08-23-2009, 06:28 PM
if you go with 2 6" aero ports you can get away with it, the port displacement would be .44 ft^3 with 2 6" aero ports tuned to 38hz at 13.5" long for 6 cubes net. leaves you with .75 ft^3for subwoofer displacement and bracing... should be more than enough

ok, thx for the tips!
so I wouldnt be able to just build a single rectangular port for all three subs with the airspace I got ? I dont mind going with aeroports, but the rectangular port is easier for me to build. However, if I dont have the space, I wont