PDA

View Full Version : 2 Type R 12's (aero help!!)



muddin wolvy
08-20-2009, 08:54 PM
Im going to make a box for two alpine type R 12" subs. It will be 42x17x14.5 (externally) With sub displacement included, that gives me a volume of about 4.5^3ft.
I think I want it tuned to about 33hz because I want them to get pretty low, but still sound loud.
Now you all come in. I want to do aero ports, but I dont know how much port volume is needed.
What do you all recommend I use?
4",6",8" 1,2,3 ports?

hatemonger
08-20-2009, 09:49 PM
i found that 35hz is best with R's. you aren't going to get much lower with type R's. they get plenty low enough at 35hz, and seem to sound louder (could be psychological more than anything) than lower tunings. if you're using actual flared aero's, a single 6 or double 4 inch port works good.

Lakota
08-21-2009, 12:04 AM
3 4"

basshedz06
08-22-2009, 06:50 AM
3 4's is way too many an would put him at like 38 or 40 with that size box would it not. i have a 3.9 tuned to 36 or 37 with 2 aero's on a alpha 15

mazdakid
08-22-2009, 10:20 AM
3 4's is way too many an would put him at like 38 or 40 with that size box would it not. i have a 3.9 tuned to 36 or 37 with 2 aero's on a alpha 15

3 4" is not way too many, you should try more than 2.

basshedz06
08-22-2009, 11:38 AM
tried 4 tuned the box to 48 hz sounded like straight *** can't tune big boxes over 44 hertz is MY rule of thumb

jshak07
08-22-2009, 11:41 AM
3 4"

type arrrggghhh master right here

Toone
08-22-2009, 11:44 AM
3 4's is way too many an would put him at like 38 or 40 with that size box would it not. i have a 3.9 tuned to 36 or 37 with 2 aero's on a alpha 15
Aero tuning is based on length not amount of ports

mazdakid
08-22-2009, 11:52 AM
Aero tuning is based on length not amount of ports
Ya, just make them longer and tune it lower.

muddin wolvy
08-22-2009, 05:21 PM
what about just one 8" or 1 or 2 6"?

muddin wolvy
09-02-2009, 11:57 AM
anyone?