PDA

View Full Version : what your guys trick for stuck bolts



99grandprixGT
08-16-2009, 11:33 PM
im triyng to get my caliper bracket off and the bolt is stuck on there. im guessing the last person probably used am impact,thing and torqued that ***** on there.so how u guys get them off. ive sprayed it with some dw 40 but nothing. and im afraid if i use am impact to take it off it will strip or if its already? ****

Blue Fury
08-16-2009, 11:36 PM
Just man handle it. It's not like you can't drill it out and re tap it for a new bolt right?

99grandprixGT
08-16-2009, 11:37 PM
Just man handle it. It's not like you can't drill it out and re tap it for a new bolt right?

im trying to not have to do that.

mk_
08-16-2009, 11:38 PM
PB Blaster, let it sit for a few minutes. and get some air tools! Good luck, but pb blaster is really a god send.

revrider1
08-16-2009, 11:38 PM
Drill it out and retap is the only way I know...

toolmaker
08-16-2009, 11:39 PM
Put a cheater bar on the wrench. Basically the longest piece of pipe you have that will fit on there. Moar leveraaage.

pitbull12887
08-16-2009, 11:40 PM
beat it with a hammer a little...might have some surface rust u need to beat loose... Impact would probally break it off. Use a prybar instead of a ratchet to loosen it

Bologna
08-16-2009, 11:40 PM
^ would work

or go to the gym

revrider1
08-16-2009, 11:41 PM
Hmm, now that im thinkin I wouldnt wanna have to drill out and retap anything that has to do with the brakin system... GL man...

davidfre21
08-16-2009, 11:43 PM
grinder

pitbull12887
08-16-2009, 11:44 PM
another way is to use a torch and heat it up a little then try loosening it

Blue Fury
08-16-2009, 11:44 PM
Ya a pipe on the wrench is probably the better idea

revrider1
08-16-2009, 11:44 PM
another way is to use a torch and heat it up a little then try loosening itJust dont warp it, lol...

99grandprixGT
08-16-2009, 11:45 PM
Put a cheater bar on the wrench. Basically the longest piece of pipe you have that will fit on there. Moar leveraaage.

ya it just *****, on jack stands does not give much room.


beat it with a hammer a little...might have some surface rust u need to beat loose... Impact would probally break it off. Use a prybar instead of a ratchet to loosen it
ya i was thinking of buying one. but i mean for the price i pay to use it once, i could just pay a shop to do it.

pitbull12887
08-16-2009, 11:45 PM
pipe on a wrench is a good way to strip the head lol...pipe on a ratchet if you dont have a prybar

pitbull12887
08-16-2009, 11:46 PM
ya it just *****, on jack stands does not give much room.


ya i was thinking of buying one. are those electric ones any good?

electric what? impact? I havent seen a electric impact before lol.... Dont use a impact anyways because it will for sure break it off if its stuck good

99grandprixGT
08-16-2009, 11:55 PM
it just pisses me off, evertime i try and save money and do it my self i run into problem and am better off paying someone to do it

Goindef154
08-16-2009, 11:57 PM
Yah but you learn from it ;)

Goindef154
08-16-2009, 11:57 PM
electric what? impact? I havent seen a electric impact before lol.... Dont use a impact anyways because it will for sure break it off if its stuck good

You've never seen a cordless one?

tylork92
08-16-2009, 11:58 PM
when i redone me interior the seat belt bolts were a pain to get loose...had to heat em up with a torch...worked like a charm....the pipe on the handle to get leverage help too.

silvercookie
08-16-2009, 11:58 PM
pb blaster like someone said.

get a rubber mallet and just tap away as the rust falls off.

pitbull12887
08-16-2009, 11:58 PM
You've never seen a cordless one?

yea..battery operated..not one that plugs into the wall... or is that what he meant by electric lol ? im confused

99grandprixGT
08-17-2009, 12:00 AM
yea..battery operated..not one that plugs into the wall... or is that what he meant by electric lol ? im confused

ya i ment battery lol. but anyways im hit it with some pb blaster tonight and then try again tommorow.

jdawg
08-17-2009, 12:01 AM
they make electric ones


wd40 is for squeaky hinges in your house, it shouldnt be near a car. You need some more leverage. I have a 3/4 drive ratchet thats about 20" long for that.

99grandprixGT
08-17-2009, 12:03 AM
they make electric ones


wd40 is for squeaky hinges in your house, it shouldnt be near a car. You need some more leverage. I have a 3/4 drive ratchet thats about 20" long for that.


ya im getting pb blaster, and i might buy longer ratchet as well.

pitbull12887
08-17-2009, 12:03 AM
i have a impact for sell though..like new ;) lol ... liquid wrench always works good for me.... If you want magic in a can buy some kroil... its like $10 a can but that **** gets anything loose!

99grandprixGT
08-17-2009, 12:04 AM
i have a impact for sell though..like new ;) lol ... liquid wrench always works good for me.... If you want magic in a can buy some kroil... its like $10 a can but that **** gets anything loose!

lol i was going to buy a compressor and impact, but i thought about it and i would not use it so...im trying to get it off without it.

pitbull12887
08-17-2009, 12:05 AM
lol i was going to buy a compressor and impact, but i thought about it and i would not use it so...im trying to get it off without it.

If you decide to holler at me..i have a pretty much brand new impact set ill ship ya for $60... cost like $150 new

99grandprixGT
08-17-2009, 12:06 AM
ok well i got a week and half to get my brakes done lol. so i got time

pitbull12887
08-17-2009, 12:10 AM
i been redoing the interior and building a system and stuff in my car...seems like everyday i get off from work i got to work on it...hardly ever get to relax lol

99grandprixGT
08-17-2009, 12:14 AM
i been redoing the interior and building a system and stuff in my car...seems like everyday i get off from work i got to work on it...hardly ever get to relax lol

ya thats why i dont got allot of time, cuz i have to do it in between work and other things. so only got a little extra time a day. i might take day off tuesday and try and get it done, and if i cant ill just take it to a shop. dont think it should cost that much to install them i already for the parts.

pitbull12887
08-17-2009, 12:16 AM
As long as they dont spend a lot of time on the bolt it shouldnt... Probally $30-$40 since you have the parts

edit: your just replacing pads or calipers too?

99grandprixGT
08-17-2009, 12:23 AM
both if its just the pads, id be good cuz i got the caliper off. its the bracket. its, not the actual caliper. im going to buy one of the 2 ft long ratchets and see if that works.