PDA

View Full Version : 2- RE SE 10's...What size ported box?



94'BLKBRD
08-14-2009, 06:20 PM
Adding another 10'' re sub, so I need a new ported box:)

What size box should I have built? Going to be tuned at 32-33hz.

Current box is 1.2@33hz

revrider1
08-14-2009, 06:24 PM
2.5cf at 32hz would be nice...

hornedfrog1985
08-14-2009, 06:29 PM
^ listen to that guy. He's had a trillion SEs.

revrider1
08-14-2009, 06:32 PM
Lol, yea...

94'BLKBRD
08-14-2009, 06:32 PM
2.5cf at 32hz would be nice...

Would the box be smaller if I go with aero ports?

dappa5
08-14-2009, 06:45 PM
that's 2.5 net (after all displacements) aero's would require less gross

94'BLKBRD
08-14-2009, 06:50 PM
I'll get some measurements from my 98' Camaro and see what will work.

dappa5
08-14-2009, 07:24 PM
98 camaro lol

dadydolas
08-14-2009, 07:24 PM
what kind of effect do you think a lil bigger like 3^ft would have?

dappa5
08-14-2009, 07:31 PM
prob could squeeze 2.0 sealed in there
possibly 2.25 ish

dappa5
08-14-2009, 07:33 PM
i think some out of the box thinking you con get more
you willing to lose you rear seats??
for more space and amps and such

dappa5
08-14-2009, 07:35 PM
http://www.subthump.com/acamarowell.htm

94'BLKBRD
08-14-2009, 08:02 PM
Max dimensions

26" L x 18.5 " W x 12" H


What do you guys think?

revrider1
08-14-2009, 08:04 PM
what kind of effect do you think a lil bigger like 3^ft would have?I have run some 10s in 3cf also, sounded good...

306stang
08-14-2009, 09:17 PM
not trying to jack the thread, ? is somewhat in line with originator

just sold my truck where i was severely limited on what i could do. only had one 10, talking about the re se's, in a sealed box right around .5-.65^3. sounds great on rock but that's it. when i had both subs hooked up it sounded terrible (not enough power probably)

i'm getting a new vehicle this weekend and will finally have a trunk therefore have more room to play with.

amp is a us amp md1. will a ported box sound better with the two 10's or just go with one and have more room for adjustment on the amp?

does anyone have any setups for caddy sts's?

dappa5
08-14-2009, 11:48 PM
Max dimensions

26" L x 18.5 " W x 12" H


What do you guys think?

well that's 2.5 before any displacements sealed
you could do an aero and end up with 2 ft^3 ish

94'BLKBRD
08-14-2009, 11:53 PM
well that's 2.5 before any displacements sealed
you could do an aero and end up with 2 ft^3 ish

Im going to talk to my box builder and see what we come up with.

thanks

revrider1
08-14-2009, 11:54 PM
They will work in 2cf, but might need a lil more. The Aeros dont take as much space...

94'BLKBRD
08-15-2009, 12:12 AM
Any noticeable difference in Aero ports oppose to slot?

94'BLKBRD
08-15-2009, 01:02 AM
Just spoke to my box builder and he said I don't have enough space to go ported, even with aeros. He says the ports would have to be 22'' long for decent tuning.

I really want to go ported, but don't want to suffocate the subs.


Any ideas? Or just go sealed?

dappa5
08-15-2009, 08:10 AM
there are ways to get more air in those cars but like i said you'll need to give up that joke that is a rear seat lmk like i said out of the box thinking
think mini wall subs /port forward /amps and batts in rear well area

94'BLKBRD
08-15-2009, 01:29 PM
there are ways to get more air in those cars but like i said you'll need to give up that joke that is a rear seat lmk like i said out of the box thinking
think mini wall subs /port forward /amps and batts in rear well area

Are you talking about the actual rear seats? Or about building a box similar to the one you posted from sub thump.

Heres a picture of my car with the 1.2cbft box and amp

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j214/pomona87/subbox003.jpg

boomintahoe
08-15-2009, 09:18 PM
psshh...SE's.... :)

dappa5
08-15-2009, 09:45 PM
lol you finish that HT set up yet??http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/smileys/free-****-smileys-953.gif (http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/Free-Ashamed-Smileys/)
psssshh !!!lol

boomintahoe
08-15-2009, 10:09 PM
lol you finish that HT set up yet??http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/smileys/free-****-smileys-953.gif (http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/Free-Ashamed-Smileys/)
psssshh !!!lol

No...still waitin on Nick for a re-design. Take a peak in the other thread. Also I quit goin there since someone is talkin ****...so I'm hopin to come up with somethin soon...