PDA

View Full Version : Installing aero port (round not squared)



robertoyoung08
08-12-2009, 09:57 PM
Im trying to design a box with a round port, i've seen people do it with pvc pipe or with manufactured round ports like "aero ports", i've never done them, just squared slot ports, so i dont have any idea how to install or place them properly. do you just make the cut out for the size of the round port and stick it in? or how do you know at what depth you get what tunning? someone who has installed or placed round ports please help. thanks

im sure you guys know what im talking about, but in case not, heres a picture:



http://www.svsound.com/products-sub-box-pb12nsd_clip_image002_0002.jpg

skmfkr
08-12-2009, 09:58 PM
http://www.psp-inc.com/psp-inc.com/cgi-bin/port_length_calculator.cgi

dappa5
08-12-2009, 10:26 PM
they are usualy 2-3 hz off on tunning so try a few others as well
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp
this one is good for 1st timers but if you want the math


{8466.4xR2}
------------ minus (1.463x R2) = port length
{ Vb x Fb2 }

if using an aero port add 1 " to lv and that's you total including flares

Buck
08-12-2009, 10:28 PM
Use winisd. I love that program. It might not be the most accurate, but does pretty **** good.

dappa5
08-12-2009, 10:30 PM
Use winisd. I love that program. It might not be the most accurate, but does pretty **** good.
no offense intended to thread creator/ but Buck read the question again ??
you think he's ready for winisd??

Buck
08-12-2009, 10:32 PM
no offense intended to thread creator/ but Buck read the question again ??
you think he's ready for winisd??

Man, I get excited, ok. Would the PSP calculator be a better recommendation?

dappa5
08-12-2009, 10:39 PM
^^^ there already lol