PDA

View Full Version : help. my ed 15k and a ported box



tony7
11-02-2003, 07:58 PM
I just bought a ed 15k and i plan on putting it in my el camino behind the seats, I want too make a ported box and a drew up a diagram showing the space i have too work with, its 4 feet long in the direction you cant see. for some reason it wont attach my diagram so heres the url http://www.xbox-connection.com/hostedimages/spaceforsub.jpg

tony7
11-03-2003, 08:27 PM
could somone help me design a box? ive never done this before and am not sure what would be best.

Mercureie
11-04-2003, 05:48 PM
i had a 3.8 cuft box ported to 33 hz for a while, it sounded nice but didn't doo too well on the higher end of things. how much power r u gonna be runnin to it?

Woodmister
11-04-2003, 06:07 PM
Box size will most likely be dependent on the power your giving it (300-600 is a good range for the 15K) so get back to us...

tony7
11-04-2003, 08:57 PM
I still havent bought an amp for it, but ill probably go with the jbl 600.1 would you reccomened somthing else? the sub is dual 2 ohm so ill be running it in parallel at 1ohm. im trying too keep the price on this system down, i got a set of boston acoustics 6.4 pro series components for free that i need to get an amp for and im planning on picking up one of those blaupunkt headunits on sale, either the san jose or the casablanca for around 100$.

Woodmister
11-05-2003, 07:18 AM
A 4-channel amp will bring down costs, somewhat. Always check out the For Sale sections. And with a dual 2ohm sub you can wire it into 4ohms (which most 4channels allow you to do, using 2 of the 4 channels). That way you can also power your comps. Check out:

www.ikesound.com
www.thezeb.com

Profiles are good for the price (around 100 for a 4channel)

tony7
11-05-2003, 08:01 PM
yeah i could do that but i think im gonna just run 2 amps, but im still wondering about the box.

Woodmister
11-05-2003, 08:15 PM
Awhile back I got an email from ED...

"Hi Adam,

Sealed is best used between 2.5-3.5 cu ft depending on the power you have. The more power, the smaller the box.

Vented, I would reccomend 3.0-4.0 cu ft, with approximately 20sq in of ventarea, tuned to 30Hz or below. Again, the more juice you have, the smaller the enclosure should be."

With the box you drew up I can help you out with the following. If you were going to be giving the sub 300 or less power do the 4cubes (making the lenght extend 25" = 4.15943 cuft)

If you were giving the sub more power give the lenght 20" (which would make it 3.32755 cuft)

Youve also got to subtract the displacement of the sub and the port. Also take into account the space the wood takes up. Is that diagram the largest space available?


Usefull links
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp
http://www.linearteam.dk/default.aspx?pageid=isdonline

tony7
11-05-2003, 09:26 PM
yeah its an el camino so its like a truck cab, and thats the biggest space, behind the seats.

Woodmister
11-06-2003, 06:15 AM
Before I design the box, do you have any idea how much power you will be sending the sub (less then 300, or more?)

tony7
11-06-2003, 09:37 AM
more, around 600

Woodmister
11-06-2003, 03:35 PM
Here's what your box will look like...
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-7/261153/15kbod.JPG

And for a port do one that is either (these are PVC ports, circles):

3" wide, and 4.845 long

or

4" wide, and 9.589 long

either one, its all good. In theory you will have less port noise with the 4" wide one. But you (human ears) will not hear a difference, most likely...

tony7
11-07-2003, 12:31 AM
PVC port.. exactly how is this done? i imagine you mean using a 4" wide, and 9.589 long pipe as a port but i dunno could you clarify?

Radar
11-07-2003, 03:55 AM
Get PVC pipe that is 4" in diamater, and the length you said. Install it flush with the box, and that will give you your desired tuning freq.

Woodmister
11-07-2003, 08:22 AM
And in your case all you would have to do is get a stright piece of pvc and make it vertical with the box. Cut a hole in the MDF (3" or 4" whichever one you get) and poke it thru the hole. Seal it up with some caulk and wala! Heres a pic...
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-7/261153/15kbod.JPG

Woodmister
11-07-2003, 08:28 AM
Also I could make the box longer then 23.5" if youve got the lenght. This way you could get some leg space back if you need it. I could make the depths smaller, like 14" would go to 13" or 12" but I would extend the 23.5"...