PDA

View Full Version : Component suggestions!

RunninRedline
08-07-2009, 10:05 PM
So let me just get this out of the way by saying, I'm a noob about car audio. Don't get me wrong I wired my whole system and attempted tuning it. I'm mechanically inclined and have the basic idea down when it comes to car audio.

I'm a huge fan of SQ like most audio nuts are, well the ones that can still hear past their SPL days. I currently have the Polk DB 6.5" components running upfront getting approx 110w. They sound great the tweeter isn't too overpowering or sharp. The woofers have a pretty good bass range, but alas I want better.

I was kind of hoping to dip my feet into 3-way components. Somewhere in the range of $500. The brands I've been looking at are Focal (I really like the concept of the inverted tweeter), DLS, and Rainbow. I would like something that is well balanced. Also I've heard that with 3 way components it's hard to get "phasing" and imaging done right. I really kinda like trial and error and tinkering with things so if anyone knows of a website that could instruct me of properly doing it I would love that information. Also if the census is that 3-way would be too difficult and 2-way would sounds just as good I wouldn't be opposed to that either.

Thanks for the help!

SSS 18734
08-07-2009, 10:46 PM
It really depends on the car you're working with and the location you want to mount them in. Some are easier than others.

I just got done with my first 3-way active setup (without ever trying active 2-way before) in my truck and it turned out quite well. I haven't tuned it (other than level-matching the speakers) and it already brings out an entirely new level of clarity and imaging to my front stage. Granted, I put the mids and tweeters on axis on my dash, so I wouldn't HAVE to do a lot of tuning to get the imaging right.