PDA

View Full Version : aero ports, help please?



EricBrantley
07-31-2009, 12:39 PM
New to this site, wanting to build my first aero ported box, but still dont quite understand the concept. Ive read and read, but some of it just still isn't sinking in. Can someone maybe dumb it down for me a bit? Dont know how to figure out how much port is needed for however big box and such. I wanna COMPLETELY understand everything before i try to build, or pass my knowledge on to others..
Thanks,
Eric

Lakota
07-31-2009, 01:13 PM
We all basically go by rules of thumb. I like to be able to run the most port area that I can fit. The more port area that you have the longer your ports have to be, so there is a limit as to how much port area you can have. Play with the port calcuator on psp-inc.com and you'll get a better feel for this.

EricBrantley
07-31-2009, 11:33 PM
okay.. but how do i figure out how much port area that i have to have? then how do i use that information to figure out how many ports are needed and how big they have to be and such?

basscort2009
07-31-2009, 11:36 PM
go to that website and enter the info. just start with 4" aeros for starters. then put what u want it tuned to and it tells u. very simple

dappa5
08-01-2009, 09:02 AM
if you are THIS not sure, do not , I repeat , do not attempt to pass on any thing to anyone!! (hell don't even reproduce )
nah!! j/king rule of thumb fpr slot ports is 12-16 in^2 per ft^3 aero's 8-14in ^2 per ft^3 opinions will vary on this subject
but there is a base to build on


i've built w / more port area than that w success on some times not
also used less w/success and not so just keep that in mind and dont force your self to use 16 when 14 will do nicely

Lakota
08-01-2009, 11:10 AM
okay.. but how do i figure out how much port area that i have to have? then how do i use that information to figure out how many ports are needed and how big they have to be and such?

You develop a feel for that as you gain experience with enclosure theory. If you plan on building an aero box then there are people on here who can help you figure out what you need.

EricBrantley
08-01-2009, 11:44 AM
ok cool.. i appreciate the help, i just dont wanna do this wrong when i do it.. it so much easier to consruct one and put it together than a slo ported box, but soo much harder to figure out for me..
i went to that calculator thing and typed in 2.3ft^3, 38hz, 4" port diamater, and 2 ports.. it gave me 18.47. is that how long each port has to be? or is that combined, the 2 ports have to be 18.47 inches long?

Lakota
08-01-2009, 12:13 PM
Yes, that is the length of each port.

basscort2009
08-01-2009, 12:23 PM
and if you cant fit 18 inches of port then try differant size aeros, like 1 6" or 1 4" or somthing to get the length that fits in ur box

EricBrantley
08-01-2009, 12:31 PM
1 4" i think was like 8. some odd inches... but wont that 1 4" be too little port area?

perfecxionX
08-01-2009, 12:37 PM
one 4" er probably isnt enough, what kind of sub is this for

mattxc
08-01-2009, 12:40 PM
1 4" is maybe enough for a single 12 imo

EricBrantley
08-01-2009, 01:11 PM
1 AQ hdc3 12.. i dont think the one 4 will fit in my box though.. what would be some alternative sizes that wouldnt be as long but give me the right port area?
scratch that..... idk why i said 1 4 wouldnt fit, i was still thinking of it being too little port area. the 1 4" would fit, just trying to figure out what would be best..

perfecxionX
08-01-2009, 01:41 PM
what do you mean by 'they wont fit'?
you can always use elbows to turn the port if its longer than your box is deep...
http://www.agenity.com/sitemanager/uploads/content/193//PVC_Elbow_Pipes.jpg