PDA

View Full Version : Trying to figure out my port length...



Goindef154
07-30-2009, 07:29 PM
I'm doing a slot port on the base of the enclosure and it's gonna be 4" x 10" and the calc. is telling me to make it 27" long for a 32hz setting. Just seems a little long and if anyone can enlighten me on it I'd appreciate it.

I used this calculator:
http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31

And the size of the enclosure is gonna be about 3-3.2sqft.

Goindef154
07-30-2009, 07:30 PM
If you need anymore info. to help me out please let me know, I'd like to make my cuts in the next hour or so.

Goindef154
07-30-2009, 07:48 PM
ttt

mokedaddy
07-30-2009, 07:52 PM
It depends on the size of the box itself but 27" seems about right for 32.

I have 2 cubes with 27 or so inches of port and mine is 27" long tuned at 32hz

aaronrchr
07-30-2009, 07:55 PM
I got 27.13in

Goindef154
07-30-2009, 08:02 PM
ok cool sounds good, just wanted to make sure, I guess I tune mine typically pretty high, but these E8's need to be tuned lower. now it seems the smaller I make the port the shorter the port needs to be, so how do I know if I've made the port too small?

mokedaddy
07-30-2009, 08:13 PM
ok cool sounds good, just wanted to make sure, I guess I tune mine typically pretty high, but these E8's need to be tuned lower. now it seems the smaller I make the port the shorter the port needs to be, so how do I know if I've made the port too small?

I use the rule of thumb of 12-16 square inches of port for every cubic foot of box space.

Goindef154
07-30-2009, 08:23 PM
Yah I actually forgot about that rule, thanks for the reminder :).