PDA

View Full Version : What does going active mean?



Ksan
07-26-2009, 03:23 AM
I hear people on here saying they want to go active with thrie head unit but what does that mean exactly? Thank you for your time. I am just trying to learn as I go.

NightDrifter05
07-26-2009, 04:04 AM
It means to use the search button

tEh ShOcKeR
07-26-2009, 04:06 AM
It means to use the search button

Provide a link for him then. I doubt you'll find anything worthwhile.

Blue Fury
07-26-2009, 04:13 AM
Provide a link for him then. I doubt you'll find anything worthwhile.

Really dude? There are 2 GREAT threads on it. Let me find them

This one was stickied
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=146726


Here's the other one. It's a log but it has a lot of info in it.
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=357526&highlight=missed

tEh ShOcKeR
07-26-2009, 04:19 AM
Really dude? There are 2 GREAT threads on it. Let me find them

That would be cool. I've done a search before and couldn't come up with anything.

x2o
07-26-2009, 04:24 AM
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=146726

Good thread there, and it's a sticky in the Speakers forum.

Ksan
07-26-2009, 05:22 AM
So I should have seen a stickied post in the speakers forum when I am reading the head unit forum. ok got it thanks. I don't understand why you guys act like everyone is below you, were you treated bad as a kid? Simple questions on here bring harsh replys and I don't not understand why. My mom taught me to be respectful to people.


So from the speaker stickie going active means adding a crossover per speaker...hmmm..ok so that means i could take out the comps crossover and fix my 4-channel amp to run the tweets and mids and i would be active got it.

Blue Fury
07-26-2009, 05:31 AM
My large font was geared towards shocker for his searching



So youre saying you have components with crossovers already. Why do you want to remove them? The supplied crossovers were made for the speaker, so you'd likely pick points that the crossovers are already set at right?

Ksan
07-26-2009, 06:03 AM
No I do not want to remove my Comps crossover, I am VERY happy with my mids/highs I was just saying that, to explain what I understood going active to mean. Now fixing my bass problem is something I want to do and something I am working on. Thanks

Blue Fury
07-26-2009, 06:42 AM
Ahh I see. Thought about deadening your doors?

ejschultz
07-26-2009, 01:25 PM
Ahh I see. Thought about deadening your doors?

I think he's talking about his subs. He says they sound like a sick cow in his sig.

Miskin
07-26-2009, 01:31 PM
So I should have seen a stickied post in the speakers forum when I am reading the head unit forum. ok got it thanks. I don't understand why you guys act like everyone is below you, were you treated bad as a kid? Simple questions on here bring harsh replys and I don't not understand why. My mom taught me to be respectful to people.


So from the speaker stickie going active means adding a crossover per speaker...hmmm..ok so that means i could take out the comps crossover and fix my 4-channel amp to run the tweets and mids and i would be active got it.

Grow thick skin or you won't make it. Complaining about it just makes is easier to get picked on.

And active means that all processing is done before(or at) the amplifier.

oldschoolboomer
07-26-2009, 01:33 PM
it means get off the internet and take up power walking!

tEh ShOcKeR
07-26-2009, 01:35 PM
it means get off the internet and take up power walking!

:laugh:

rc10mike
07-26-2009, 03:03 PM
It means:

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c131/rc10zmoney/whatever-this-guy-ate-it-was-a-lot-.jpg

Being active why of course!

PaulD
07-27-2009, 11:11 AM
^^^^ I think that's being regular.

I like being active, helps keep my cholesterol down :D

ejschultz
07-27-2009, 12:04 PM
That guy must eat his Activia.