PDA

View Full Version : Figuring out subwoofer displacement?



silenkiller
07-25-2009, 11:48 PM
How do you guys determine ur subwoofer displacement? Or do most companies include this in their recommended box volumes?

I'm building a box for 2 HDC3 15's at 8.5 cuft. Just wondering if I need to add space for the subs.

dappa5
07-25-2009, 11:50 PM
they are here
http://www.audioque.com/aq/HDCSeries.htm
just enter in all values and your design prog should be able to est sub displacement

dappa5
07-25-2009, 11:53 PM
aprox .275 ft^3 ea
man thats beefy

silenkiller
07-25-2009, 11:53 PM
well, im not really using a design program; just figuring out the box plans by hand. Where on there does it discuss the displacement? Just assume for the magnet diameter and length?

silenkiller
07-25-2009, 11:58 PM
Hm you sure? I just got this from audioque lol, wow that was fast.

The aluminum coil version is optimized for extreme duty and competition. It uses a different suspension and is hand built with American spiders and coil. It will also handle more power.
To use 2-15's you need around 10 cubes gross in order to have 8 cubes net.

dappa5
07-25-2009, 11:58 PM
there was not a value for displacement but bass box 6 pro est it @ .275 ea
so there you go

dappa5
07-25-2009, 11:59 PM
they accounting for port maybe??

silenkiller
07-26-2009, 12:01 AM
yeah could be. prolly just gave a value right off the hip.