PDA

View Full Version : Looking for upgrade from Alpine Ref's

Alter Ego Trip
07-24-2009, 01:47 AM
Looking at trying something else out. I'm more an SQ guy. I do like it kind of loud, but not obnoxious. Here's a quick breakdown

Vehicle - 2005 Chevy ext cab
Amplification - MTX TE1004 125x4 or 450x2 :D and MTX TE1501D
Subs - two 12" RE SE12's in a sealed box
EQ - (if you can call it that) Imprint
Deadening - Lot's + ensolite

1) Prefer a more laid back tweet like the Ref's (not a fan of Focal at all)
2) Obviously would like a speaker with punchy midbass to blend well with the subs
3) I'm no installation expert so off axis imaging is important
4) Price point......hmmmm. Let's say 300-600. Used or new is an option.

Thanks

lyttleviet
07-24-2009, 03:23 AM
I'd consider some of the following components I've heard and love.

Hertz MLK165
Morel Dotech Ovation 6

These seem to be exactly what your lookin for.

vellocet
07-24-2009, 04:12 AM
I've kinda had a want for some rainbow germs for awhile.

James Bang
07-24-2009, 04:15 AM
bump to pro?

Eugenics
07-24-2009, 04:21 AM
go active?

cd6551
07-24-2009, 04:32 AM
go active?
Agreed. Always the better choice

bass_lover1
07-24-2009, 11:16 AM
go active?

That wouldn't accomplish anything.

Alter Ego Trip
07-24-2009, 12:14 PM
I'd consider some of the following components I've heard and love.

Hertz MLK165
Morel Dotech Ovation 6

These seem to be exactly what your lookin for.

I will do some research on them. I have heard some negative's on the Morel's Tweeter?? (muddy?) To clarify; it would be easier to find out for myself if I lived somewhere that had many different brands to demo. Unfortunately I live in BFE and the only option I have is a couple brands hung on a board at my local B&M, hence purchasing the Alpine's.