PDA

View Full Version : clamshell with aero ports?



JEXTEL
07-20-2009, 09:27 PM
is it possible to use aero ports instead of wood?

i want to do 12 12s in a clam shell like frankies but it will be sealed or i will use aeros..4 6" aeros to be exact..i have alil over 17cu after displacement for the box.

the aero will be placed at the top and bottom of the clam shell instead of the middle. Will this work?

like where the speakers are in this picture..

http://c1.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/51/l_93a5a64b76283ce167c8a5355c97b0f0.jpg

skmfkr
07-20-2009, 09:46 PM
your gonna need more than 4 6" aeros. 6 6" should be good

Fraze
07-20-2009, 09:49 PM
Heres one I did last week, its not exaclty a clam shell and its pvc instead of aero, but it kind of gives you an idea? 8 3" ports and 11 cubes
http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/rr65/fraze421/102_0580.jpg
http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/rr65/fraze421/102_0581.jpg

JEXTEL
07-20-2009, 09:51 PM
your gonna need more than 4 6" aeros. 6 6" should be good

thats what i thought until i read a thread saying when using aero you only need half of the recommend port area

so 17cu needs 204-272sqin of port area so that would be 102-136 round in of port area

4 aeros is 113.xx
6 aeros is 169.xx (will having this much port are make the box peaky?)

MakeshiftAudio
07-20-2009, 09:52 PM
I'm using a 10" PVC pipe, just because I can't route that many, nor want to deal with so many pipes. Also people sometimes go WTF THAT'S HUGE.

Um. Port area is port area.

tommyk90
07-20-2009, 09:52 PM
4 6" aero's isn't NEARLY enough for 12 12's.

Even 6 is cutting it short.

JEXTEL
07-20-2009, 09:52 PM
Heres one I did last week, its not exaclty a clam shell and its pvc instead of aero, but it kind of gives you an idea? 8 3" ports and 11 cubes
http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/rr65/fraze421/102_0580.jpg
http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/rr65/fraze421/102_0581.jpg

how does it sound and wouldnt be "louder" turn around the other way?

JEXTEL
07-20-2009, 10:03 PM
4 6" aero's isn't NEARLY enough for 12 12's.

Even 6 is cutting it short.

what about 4 8" PVC..

and what do you recommend?

tommyk90
07-20-2009, 10:06 PM
what about 4 8 PVC..

and what do you recommend?

4 8's would be good. :)

JEXTEL
07-20-2009, 10:08 PM
4 8's would be good. :)

i trust your judgement ;) ty

audioarsonal
07-20-2009, 10:09 PM
I don't think you have enough air space for ported.I would suggest sealed.It should have a pretty wide bandwidth that way.

skmfkr
07-20-2009, 10:10 PM
6 6" i would say would be fine i usually go for 10 square inches per cube with aeros 6 6" aeros would be like 168 sq inches or so. the 4 8" would be 200

JEXTEL
07-20-2009, 10:55 PM
I don't think you have enough air space for ported.I would suggest sealed.It should have a pretty wide bandwidth that way.

i wonder if someone was going to say anything about this....

im really trying to get to the 154 dB range on music if seal does it i have no problem sealing it

im going to port it and see how it goes..if it not what i couldnt i add polyfill? and if all else fails i can remove the ports and seal the box off...

tommyk90
07-20-2009, 10:58 PM
I don't think you have enough air space for ported.I would suggest sealed.It should have a pretty wide bandwidth that way.

Crap, I didn't even notice the airspace he had available.

I agree, not enough airspace for 12 12's ported.

KyleBechtold
07-20-2009, 11:03 PM
Heres one I did last week, its not exaclty a clam shell and its pvc instead of aero, but it kind of gives you an idea? 8 3" ports and 11 cubes
http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/rr65/fraze421/102_0580.jpg
http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/rr65/fraze421/102_0581.jpg

not trying to be an *** but that looks like two prefab boxes you turned on there sides and added pvc to it.. then put a big as kicker logo in the back along with shop logo..

mmouse57
07-20-2009, 11:13 PM
lol at that kicker van so cheesy
sorry looks like the other guy said prefab boxes and a top thingy

JEXTEL
07-20-2009, 11:31 PM
Crap, I didn't even notice the airspace he had available.


I agree, not enough airspace for 12 12's ported.

Think i can still expect "big" numbers with it sealed on 12kw rms? 153-154dB bassrace?

i know its alot of factors to be acounted for but im trying to get a rough estimate..or at least a goal...lol

Fraze
07-21-2009, 09:48 AM
lol at that kicker van so cheesy
sorry looks like the other guy said prefab boxes and a top thingy

Its not 2 prefab boxs. We dont sell prefab boxes. Its all one chamber, it goes around back, its in the shape of a U. It was something I put together in a day, sorry it looks "cheesy" and prefab. Just thought I would show an idea.

Crzy
07-21-2009, 11:34 AM
the spraypaint on the carpet makes it look cheesy, shoulda cut out those areas and inlayed another color carpet into it or painted the wood under the carpet and cut the designes out of it, woulda looked way cleaner and more professional. hope the dude didnt pay loot for that install

Fraze
07-21-2009, 10:06 PM
the spraypaint on the carpet makes it look cheesy, shoulda cut out those areas and inlayed another color carpet into it or painted the wood under the carpet and cut the designes out of it, woulda looked way cleaner and more professional. hope the dude didnt pay loot for that install

The spray paint looks like ****, it wasnt exaclty my idea. I was gona do that with the carpet, but I messed up. And no, he only paid $350 for that whole thing.

Apocalypse boy
07-21-2009, 10:11 PM
Think i can still expect "big" numbers with it sealed on 12kw rms? 153-154dB bassrace?

i know its alot of factors to be acounted for but im trying to get a rough estimate..or at least a goal...lol

What can you do now with the equipment you have?

JEXTEL
07-22-2009, 12:53 PM
What can you do now with the equipment you have?

16v 153.xx
12v 7 batteries 152.2
12v 5 batteries 151.2