PDA

View Full Version : 18" HDC3 walled



SPLluminator
07-20-2009, 10:24 AM
Me and my buddy are walling off his grand am. We are walling just a single HDC3 18" sub. We were wondering if we should go with a bandpass or just a slotted port. Im not sure how to design bandpasses so if anyone could help that would be great. Also, were not really sure where to tune this thing if we go with a sloted port. Im thinking we can get a good 12+ cubic ft. out of his back seat so thats the space we have to work with. Thanks for any help/input:)

99grandprixGT
07-20-2009, 10:27 AM
do 2 18s

SPLluminator
07-20-2009, 10:35 AM
Cant he doesnt have enough cash

illbmeubu
07-20-2009, 10:38 AM
these subs like to be tuned at around 36-38Hz IIRC. i agree with 99grandprix, he should save up and do 2 18s. 1 18 in that big a box may be overkill, in my opinion. 2 18s would be perfect for that amount of space.

SPLluminator
07-20-2009, 10:41 AM
these subs like to be tuned at around 36-38Hz IIRC. i agree with 99grandprix, he should save up and do 2 18s. 1 18 in that big a box may be overkill, in my opinion. 2 18s would be perfect for that amount of space.


Thats why i was saying a bandpass would be better. It would require a bigger box than a typical slotted port.

grimreper912003
07-20-2009, 10:41 AM
Instead of 1 AQ do 2 mj18's then. Cone area > power

SPLluminator
07-20-2009, 10:45 AM
Instead of 1 AQ do 2 mj18's then. Cone area > power

Lol, thats what i was just telling him.

illbmeubu
07-20-2009, 10:47 AM
Instead of 1 AQ do 2 mj18's then. Cone area > power

this does sound like a better idea. these will put you in about the same price range as the MJs are 175 ea. and you have more cone area; they will hit stupid low if you tune at about 32 Hz. what kind of amp is he gonna use?

grimreper912003
07-20-2009, 10:49 AM
The 2ohm coils come soon. ;)

illbmeubu
07-20-2009, 10:51 AM
hmmmm. that's the way to go IMO

skmfkr
07-20-2009, 10:56 AM
could also do 2 sd2.5 15s.

SPLluminator
07-20-2009, 10:56 AM
Well, idk. I wanna see what the 1 18" would do in a bandpass. The geo metro wall build is using a single BTL. So im thinking a single AQ will work just as well in a bandpass.

RAM_Designs
07-20-2009, 10:58 AM
I'd go with a pair of MJ's tuned to 32hz...love those subs to death.

Annnarbor84
07-20-2009, 11:24 AM
Lol @ all the random suggestions. I would not do a slot ported for just one sub. I would deff do a bandpass. If you need help with the design get a hold of 80, he can help you out.

grimreper912003
07-20-2009, 11:32 AM
Lol @ all the random suggestions. I would not do a slot ported for just one sub. I would deff do a bandpass. If you need help with the design get a hold of 80, he can help you out.

What random suggestions? We are giving him more options for his situation. You know what your doing but for some reason you always seems so cocky to me. It annoys the fawk out of me.

SPLluminator
07-20-2009, 11:34 AM
Lol @ all the random suggestions. I would not do a slot ported for just one sub. I would deff do a bandpass. If you need help with the design get a hold of 80, he can help you out.

Yea, i was gonna hit him up.

Annnarbor84
07-20-2009, 11:36 AM
What random suggestions? We are giving him more options for his situation. You know what your doing but for some reason you always seems so cocky to me. It annoys the fawk out of me.

The guy is working with 1 sub, and has no more money. It is pretty cut and dry. And as far as being cocky I don't know where you are getting that from. Ask anybody who has met me, I am the farthest thing from:laugh:

grimreper912003
07-20-2009, 12:51 PM
The guy is working with 1 sub, and has no more money. It is pretty cut and dry. And as far as being cocky I don't know where you are getting that from. Ask anybody who has met me, I am the farthest thing from:laugh:

But given his airspace he could get louder for the same money. Here is 2 MJ18M's in the classifieds right now.

And I don't know, you just come across as cocky.

SPLluminator
07-20-2009, 09:46 PM
But given his airspace he could get louder for the same money. Here is 2 MJ18M's in the classifieds right now.

And I don't know, you just come across as cocky.

K ladies:rolleyes:. Yea i pmed him but theres no way im gonna pay shipping for 2 18's from canada lol.

Annnarbor84
07-21-2009, 01:15 AM
K lady:rolleyes:. Yea i pmed him but theres no way im gonna pay shipping for 2 18's from canada lol.

Fixed;)

SPLluminator
07-21-2009, 10:11 AM
Fixed;)

hardy har har. K well ima pm 80 in. Then start a build log. Were starting the build today.

Annnarbor84
07-21-2009, 11:06 AM
Should turn out nice...

SPLluminator
07-21-2009, 05:27 PM
I hope so.