PDA

View Full Version : jl box help

augie
10-23-2003, 07:41 PM
alright well im new at box buildin but i have researched alot and know what it takes to build a custom box...i downloaded winisd...it tells me that i need a 12.367 cu. ft. ported box with 4" ports for 2 12" jl audio w3s. doesnt that seem a little big(da cu. ft.). i could use some help cause im gettin pretty **** close on buildin the box. :confused:

mattj
10-24-2003, 11:39 PM
12.3 is pretty big but it all depends on what you want. in that 12 cubes its going to get pretty loud but more then likely sound like shiit. you could narrow it down to like 5 cubes total and it would still sound fine (for JL) :evil:

augie
10-27-2003, 02:54 AM
alrite...well thanks. but instead im goin to make it a two chamber 5 cube box with 2.5 to each chamber...and also a port to each at 20-23 hz. hows that sound. i mean im not tryin to blow my **** windows out i just want to bump so i can enjoy tha **** thing...what do you think?

LoneRanger
10-27-2003, 03:20 AM
alrite...well thanks. but instead im goin to make it a two chamber 5 cube box with 2.5 to each chamber...and also a port to each at 20-23 hz. hows that sound. i mean im not tryin to blow my **** windows out i just want to bump so i can enjoy tha **** thing...what do you think?

Five cubes sounds great for 2 w3's, but tuning them that low is kinda overdoing it. I'd tune them to about 28-32hz, and for goodness sake use a single chamber ported box that way you don't end up with two boxes tuned to different frequencies. Even the slightest miscalculation or miscut will leave one tuned slightly higher than the other and will completely throw your sound off. When tuning subwoofer boxes, even a 32nd of an inch makes a difference!

augie
10-27-2003, 03:29 AM
alrite...one chamber for two 12s...one port...how big and how deep? also...if its tuned to 28-32 hz...that means that it hits harder at those fs or what?

LoneRanger
10-27-2003, 03:41 AM