PDA

View Full Version : Alright, what do you think of this Aero Setup? Good to buy?



silenkiller
07-19-2009, 03:16 AM
Alright guys, after spending an hour or so learning about flared ports, this is what I've come up with to do.

8CUFT. Tuned to 35Hz - Two 15 HDC3A-'s, 4kw.

(2)
PSP6-BKNT
6" x 17" Precision Ports, cut down to 6 x 12.16 inches total length.

Car stereo's calculator says to avoid port noise:
Minimum Usable Vent Diameter: 12.92 in
Min Area: 131.15 in.

So with the flared aeros I've planned, I should have:

12 In Diameter,
Area: 343 Cu In per aero, so 686 CUin. Total Area.

This sound like a solid plan so I can pull the trigger on buying the 70 dollars worth of aero ports?

Thanks guys. First time doing an install of flared ports.

killa101
07-19-2009, 04:09 AM
You are a bit under the minimum area calculator you used but everything else looks correct.

You port area is about 56.5 square inches not the 131.15 that the calculator you used recommends.

silenkiller
07-19-2009, 12:00 PM
You are a bit under the minimum area calculator you used but everything else looks correct.

You port area is about 56.5 square inches not the 131.15 that the calculator you used recommends.

How are you coming up with 56.5?

john denver
07-19-2009, 12:04 PM
area for a circle is 3.14 x radius squared

How did you come up with 343

john denver
07-19-2009, 12:05 PM
3.14x3x3=28.26x2=56.52

bubbagumper6
07-19-2009, 12:06 PM
How are you coming up with 56.5?

The port area is just the area of the circle...so a 6" port has an area of 28.26" (r^2*pi). So 2 6" ports = 56.52"

silenkiller
07-19-2009, 12:07 PM
dont you need to find the cubic inches, not square inches, for the area requirements?

I guess aeros are different than slots?

bubbagumper6
07-19-2009, 12:09 PM
dont you need to find the cubic inches, not square inches, for the area requirements?

I guess aeros are different than slots?

your confusing Port VOLUME and Port AREA.

silenkiller
07-19-2009, 12:11 PM
so the calculator is telling me an area requirement, not a volume requirement for aeros? so I dont even have to worry about the volume, just the area?

thegreatestpenn
07-19-2009, 12:14 PM
you need volume to figure out how much space the ports take up so you can accurately plan the enclosure.

2 6" aeros IS NOT ENOUGH PORT for an 8cu.ft box. You'd be better off with 3, even 4 if you like the boom. My 2.5cu.ft. box has 1 6" aeroport you get my drift

bubbagumper6
07-19-2009, 12:19 PM
A good rule of thumb is 10 square inches of port AREA per cu. ft. of enclosure volume. So if you have a 8 cu. ft. enclosure, your going to want ~80 sq. in. of port.

Which would be 3 6" aeros.

thegreatestpenn
07-19-2009, 12:21 PM
A good rule of thumb is 10 square inches of port AREA per cu. ft. of enclosure volume. So if you have a 8 cu. ft. enclosure, your going to want ~80 sq. in. of port.

Which would be 3 6" aeros.

so conservative, I usually shoot for 14sqin of port per cu.ft.! but I'm a little crazy :crazy:

bubbagumper6
07-19-2009, 12:22 PM
so conservative, I usually shoot for 14sqin of port per cu.ft.! but I'm a little crazy :crazy:

Well they say like 12-16 for slot ports, and closer to 10 for aeros...that's what I've heard.

silenkiller
07-19-2009, 12:25 PM
Ah alright. I think im following you now. btw, do I need to subtract the volume of the aeros that are inside from the total enclosure volume?

bubbagumper6
07-19-2009, 12:27 PM
Ah alright. I think im following you now. btw, do I need to subtract the volume of the aeros that are inside from the total enclosure volume?

to calculate what?

Your net volume, is the internal volume minus any bracing, the sub displacement, and port volume.

thegreatestpenn
07-19-2009, 12:27 PM
correct, sub displacement too. so if your box is supposed to be 8 cu.ft. then you figure out volume of aeros and subs in cu.ft. and add those values to the 8cu.ft. for total internal volume needed to have proper size and tuning

silenkiller
07-19-2009, 12:32 PM
^^ yeah roger that.

DNick454
07-19-2009, 02:08 PM
Alright guys, after spending an hour or so learning about flared ports, this is what I've come up with to do.

8CUFT. Tuned to 35Hz - Two 15 HDC3A-'s, 4kw.

(2)
PSP6-BKNT
6" x 17" Precision Ports, cut down to 6 x 12.16 inches total length.

Car stereo's calculator says to avoid port noise:
Minimum Usable Vent Diameter: 12.92 in
Min Area: 131.15 in.

So with the flared aeros I've planned, I should have:

12 In Diameter,
Area: 343 Cu In per aero, so 686 CUin. Total Area.

This sound like a solid plan so I can pull the trigger on buying the 70 dollars worth of aero ports?

Thanks guys. First time doing an install of flared ports.

Cubic inches is a measure of VOLUME, not area. You measure port area by taking the diameter, halving it (radius), sqaring that, and then multiplying it by 3.14 (pie). Then double that since you have two ports. You don't have 686 total port area lol. You've got around 57 SQAURE inches of port area :fyi: