PDA

View Full Version : Flared port sizes for 4KW?



silenkiller
07-18-2009, 03:10 PM
I'm going to put two hdc3's in 8cuft/tuned to 35hz. I was thinking about using flared ports. For that amount of power, is there a minimum port diameter you guys recommend to avoid port noise?

I was thinking two 4 inch ports, 4 inches long.

oldschoolboomer
07-18-2009, 03:14 PM
what size subs?

Random1010
07-18-2009, 03:15 PM
2 6"s or 4 4"s

dappa5
07-18-2009, 03:29 PM
aeros are more efficient than slots so rule of thumb for slots is 12-16 in^2 per ft^3 and aeros 8-10in^2 per ft^3 I'd go around 10 sq in per cube which would be 80 in sq of area so bout 3 6's but two would still be close to acceptable limits @ 56.52 in sq

silenkiller
07-18-2009, 05:36 PM
ic. two 15's for the guy who wanted to know.

weird. i guess the winisd calc is off a bit eh? lol

What I dont understand very well is why when i increase the diameter of the ports, that the length has to increase so much. For 3 six in ports, I'd need 19.94 inches on each of them. Seems kinda long?
http://www.psp-inc.com/psp-inc.com/cgi-bin/port_length_calculator.cgi

Unless it is saying thats the TOTAL length, divided by the 3 six inch ports.

silenkiller
07-18-2009, 05:42 PM
.. and what confused me more, is that when you determine the volume of just a cylinder, its saying I only need like 1inch deep 6 inchers = 38 sq inches of vol per port.

Can someone elaborate on this a bit more, or at least point me in the right direction?