PDA

View Full Version : Need help deciding which Sony receiver should I get

JarvisB
07-18-2009, 12:06 PM
hello guys,

Before I proceed, i would like you all to know that I am new to all this HT thingy, I just want to get into it starting with a decent/budget set up

Since I have all Sony equipment sofar- sony tv, ps3, and bd560(soon) so i would like to keep it all sony

I went on amazon to explore my options on sony receivers.. here is what I found..

I plan on running 5 channel plus one subwoofer (so can I just use a 7.1 receiver or I MUST get 5.1?)

here is the 7.1 I like but the biggest gripe here is that it is 1080i not 1080p

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-STRDG820-Audio-Video-Receiver/dp/B0015HPYDK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1247932463&sr=1-1

On other hand, I could get this one for 5.1 but it got only 2 hdmi inputs.. I am not sure what does 1080/60p means? 60 represents the hz refresh rate?? Im wondering cuz my TV is 120hz so I would like to put it to the fullest potential

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-STR-DG520-Audio-Video-Receiver/dp/tech-data/B0015HPYD0/ref=de_a_smtd

any opinions would be greatly appreciated since it is going to be my first time dealing with this stuff

Thanks in advance!

p.s. I am thinking that I would get all speakers by polk on amazon which got nice prices and then i might just build my own sub with a plate amp or just get a psw12 and call it a day

JarvisB
07-18-2009, 03:59 PM
:( no one wanna help me?

Buck
07-18-2009, 04:01 PM
go to icixsound.com

they do some HT stuff

ejschultz
07-18-2009, 04:24 PM
Go with the 820. The 520 doesn't have video swithing, just HDMI passthrough. I used to to sell these for a living.

JarvisB
07-18-2009, 04:53 PM
i see but can i just use 5 channels rather than using all 7?

but my biggest gripe with the 820 is that it does not process 1080p picture..

I could just get optical cable so i can just get the picture straight from the systems but the sound thru the optical cable