PDA

View Full Version : need help with a box..........



captnfangdango
07-18-2009, 03:34 AM
i built a sealed two chamber box for 4- 15" orion xtr 4 ohm dual coil subs (two per chamber).........the box is 31 3/4" high.....21 inches across the bottom......11 1/2 across the top....and 40" long total with each chamber 5 cubic feet per 2 15" subs........the question i have is did i build this box to big?
....don't get me wrong it hits real hard .......but just doesnt sound right.......any suggestions please???

i'm driving this setup with two lanzar opti 50c running 1 ohm...................the box is in an 84" chevy s/10 ext 4x4..........tight fit but works......

dappa5
07-18-2009, 11:39 AM
just looking @ orions recomended enclosure vented is 3.5ft^3 per sub and sealed is 2.5 ft^3 with those measure ments you cgave thats just over 4.75 each side (that's assuming 3/4" wood and that both boxes were built equaly) it looks awefully close to your seats are you getting any issues with that?

18inchjeepin
07-18-2009, 11:51 AM
size is fine, maybe try adding something in the box to take up space, that would change the sound. Have you listened to it with the doors open or windows down? Those can make a big difference. Is this your first sealed box?

captnfangdango
07-18-2009, 03:38 PM
the box is close to the seat.....i had to cut a block of wood and place it behind the driver seat to space it from the sub....only too a 2" block and the clerance isn't an issue now.......and yes its 3/4 inch partical .........this isn't the first time i've built a sealed box.......just the first time one of this size........usually its only 10's or 12's and only one or two....

i have listened to it with the doors and windows open and closed...........hits real hard either way.........im useing a custic crossover(powered) tuned to 35hz.......i'm thinking about adding some poly fill (about one bag per side) and see if that will smooth out the bass and.......it just seems real punchy not smooth.......the bass on the head unit is all the way to -7, and the bass knobs one the amp is set to about 10'oclock.............

thanks for the input so far............mostly i was worried about the air space in the box being wrong.............

dappa5
07-18-2009, 03:40 PM
air space good try poly and are your sub sonic filters off?

captnfangdango
07-18-2009, 05:58 PM
the amps themselved have no crossover built in......the only thing i have right now is a custic 3-way that is about 16 years old...........i don't think it right for the setup.........im thinking about maybe buying this one......
https://0190388.netsolstores.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=380

hopefully it will better.....but if someone can suggest something else then........im planning on running two amps for highs and the opti's are 2 or one channel imput........thanks