PDA

View Full Version : need a design around a precison port



teen
07-17-2009, 12:02 PM
i have two E8s coming and im trying to build a ported enclosure for them. im trying to use a precision port from my last box for the port on this new box.

the port is exactly 15" from flared end to flared end and its already glued together with pvc glue so it would be kinda hard to cut this thing to another length.

so does anyobdy wanna try and build a box, 1.2 cubes single chamber, incorporating the single port listed above that can fit two sundown E8's?

heres some specs taken directly from woofer cookers thread

Ported Box:
0.60 ft^3 tuned to 30 Hz
F3 of 25 Hz
Depth = 4.25"
OD w/ gasket = 8 5/16"
Cut Out = 7"

if somebody thinks they could make it work that'd be great. i could probably throw you a few dollars via paypal

subs up/ suns back/ ports firing to the side or front. doesnt really matter. dimensions arent really a problem either as the box is in the back of my jeep so theres plenty of room. im used to having at least 6 cubes back there soo...

wu501
07-17-2009, 12:10 PM
what is the port diameter?

wu501
07-17-2009, 12:16 PM
nvmd...there is no way to make that work with what you are trying to do.

teen
07-17-2009, 12:23 PM
i forgot 4".

no way huh... thats what i figured.

wu501
07-17-2009, 12:27 PM
^^well the lower the tuning, the longer the port. Plus that overall box size is going to be way to small to accommodate the ports.

teen
07-17-2009, 12:32 PM
that box size is net. not gross. idk if itll work regardless.


i need 1.2 cubes net and i could maybe go a bit lower on the tuning. like 28hz. idk if thatll help.

wu501
07-17-2009, 12:38 PM
your not going to fit a single port for sure and I still don't see it working if you used multiple smaller length ports. 1.2 cubes is not a lot of space to work with.

teen
07-17-2009, 12:38 PM
and i have 4 of these ports so if i could use like 2 to take up space and help in the tuning and at the same time make the box larger i could do that. lol not sure if you get what im saying, but i doubt its gunna work anyway.

teen
07-17-2009, 12:39 PM
ehh alright.. guess i gotta go with a slot port.

wu501
07-17-2009, 12:41 PM
I'm at work but it is slow so I'll go do some quick math but you are probably better off with a simple slot port for this box. I'll get back to you in a bit.