PDA

View Full Version : Jmac, help with ft^3 calculations



tommyk90
10-20-2003, 03:37 PM
Hey, i've tried a couple different calculators and i keep getting different numbers as to the cubic feet of the box. If someone else can try and get me a number, that would be sweet

Width: 50"
Height: 20"
Depth 1: 4"
Depth 2: 6"

At one place i got 1.7 cubes, and another i got 2.2 cubes.

tommyk90
10-20-2003, 03:53 PM
Yeah, 3/4" MDF. I figured it was less that 2 cubes too, but that other site said 2.2. Do you think that is enough to port it and still have it sound good?


BTW, why did you use 2 different calculations? Can't you just use one? Oh, and there is another part of the box that the sub is attached to. It's dimensions are

Length-16"
Height-22.25"
Depth 1-3"
Depth 2-.75"(look in my gallery to understand that, that number is just the thickness of the wood because the top depth is inside the box)

tommyk90
10-20-2003, 06:23 PM
1.5" x 14.5" x 20.75" x 0.5 / 1728 = 0.13059 ft^3

1.81734 + 0.13059 = 1.94793 ft^3

Porting that will be difficult, but achievable ...

Is it even worth porting? And if it is, 35 hz would be good right? What would the port dimensions be.

tommyk90
10-20-2003, 06:47 PM
Is there much room to port off to the side or does it take up the full width of your cabin ?

I was thinking several 2" ports out the top, but that's not looking too good ... :(

No, it'd have to be ported out of the top. That is the only side that isn't blocked:(. What about one long port across the top? You looked at the picture of the box in my gallery right?

tommyk90
10-20-2003, 08:25 PM
Well, i definitely dont want port noise, and there is no way i'm building a different enclosure(at least for now). That design is the biggest box i can fit.

There really is no way to make a long enough port? D*mn.