PDA

View Full Version : Cant find specs on my older head unit? Also, upgrade?



mik3v
07-09-2009, 10:49 AM
Alright, so I want to work on making my stereo system in my mustang sound better. I have an older, pretty nice, pioneer head unit (DEH 535) in from the previous owner which isn't bad but I would love to have an aux-in plug to play music through my speakers with my phone, ipod, zune, etc...
Are there cheap ones you guys would recommend? All I need is an Aux port plug thingy.

My Pioneed DEH 535 unit says: 40Wx4 What does that mean? Can I have bigger than 40 watt speakers or smaller?

Money is also pretty tight for me, therefore super expensive suggestions arent going to work if ya suggest a good new head unit to go with new speakers im hoping to get
Thanks.

mik3v
07-10-2009, 02:43 PM
anyone?

dragnix
07-10-2009, 02:47 PM
look in the classifieds for some older unit that have aux? Don't worry about the 40x4 rating, it's not giving you that much power

mik3v
07-10-2009, 02:53 PM
look in the classifieds for some older unit that have aux? Don't worry about the 40x4 rating, it's not giving you that much power

Alright thanks.

So I can get LARGER powered speakers and it just wouldnt be able to power them all the way correct?
But dont get LESS than 40 watt speakers or they theoretically could blow from too much power..? correct?

k_schutte
07-10-2009, 02:56 PM
Alright thanks.

So I can get LARGER powered speakers and it just wouldnt be able to power them all the way correct?
But dont get LESS than 40 watt speakers or they theoretically could blow from too much power..? correct?

4X40W is max output.... you are probably getting 15watts RMS per channel form that head unit. I think even Pyle could stand up to 15 watts :D

dragnix
07-10-2009, 02:57 PM
technically you're correct since the headunit is not making anywhere near 40watts tbh. If you're going to buy aftermarket speakers then it might be smart to amp them separately instead of using headunit power since that won't be enough and will sound like ***.

k_schutte
07-10-2009, 03:00 PM
hornedfrog1985 had a nice Clarion for sale that would work for you... has the USB hookup on the front like mine, doesn't get any easier than that...

mik3v
07-10-2009, 03:15 PM
4X40W is max output.... you are probably getting 15watts RMS per channel form that head unit. I think even Pyle could stand up to 15 watts :D
Ohhh alright thanks. Pyle? im assuming... thats a bad/cheap brand? or? lol


technically you're correct since the headunit is not making anywhere near 40watts tbh. If you're going to buy aftermarket speakers then it might be smart to amp them separately instead of using headunit power since that won't be enough and will sound like ***.
Yeah I am really interested in buying some 6 1/2 speakers Like these: (they were recommended to me on here. Seem nice and money is tight)

MB Quart FKA116 6.5" Coaxial 2-Way Car Speakers (http://cgi.ebay.com/MB-QUART-FKA116-6-5-SPEAKERS-2-WAY-COAXIAL-NEW-6-1-2_W0QQitemZ180371052189QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_Spea kers?hash=item29fef3d69d&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65:15|66:2|39:1|293:2|294:50)

KICKER DS650 6.5" 2WAY COAXIAL SPEAKERS (http://cgi.ebay.com/KICKER-DS650-6-5-2WAY-COAXIAL-SPEAKER-SYSTEM-DS-SERIES_W0QQitemZ130282981130QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar _Speakers?hash=item1e5578870a&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65:15|66:2|39:1|293:2|294:50)

Do these look good? I want to be able to crank the music loud and spend as little as possible lol.
Also, what would i need to run those? Would i need to get TWO pairs? for doors and in the back?



hornedfrog1985 had a nice Clarion for sale that would work for you... has the USB hookup on the front like mine, doesn't get any easier than that...
Really? How do i find that?

dragnix
07-10-2009, 03:20 PM
no need for rears, some like them some don't. Since you're on a budget i say don't.

mik3v
07-10-2009, 03:23 PM
no need for rears, some like them some don't. Since you're on a budget i say don't.
Really? Alright thats good i guess :) So just buy one pair of those Kickers or MB Quarts?

What would i do with the back speakers? leave them in? or would i take them out? i think itd be nice to have something back there... right?
Would it be possible to have the aftermarket speakers in the doors and factory in the rear?

dragnix
07-10-2009, 03:25 PM
Really? Alright thats good i guess :) So just buy one pair of those Kickers or MB Quarts?

What would i do with the back speakers? leave them in? or would i take them out? i think itd be nice to have something back there... right?
Would it be possible to have the aftermarket speakers in the doors and factory in the rear?

yea you can do that. I just took mine out. But the stock should not over power the aftermarket so it doesn't hurt to leave them in.

mik3v
07-10-2009, 03:33 PM
yea you can do that. I just took mine out. But the stock should not over power the aftermarket so it doesn't hurt to leave them in.

Okay sweet. So how would it all hookup? I am planning on doing everything myself, I have seen "how to remove the door panel on my car" write ups online. will the new speakers just...? connect fine? idk im not sure at all..
which do you think are better in the first place, the kickers or mb quart... or other?

dragnix
07-10-2009, 03:37 PM
haven't used either, can't tell you. They might or might not fit. You might want to take the stock speakers out first to see what their dimensions are compared to the speakers you are going to buy. Worse case scenario you would have to cut out the door and make a baffle. Baffle is easy, cutting the door...not so much, but not bad.

mik3v
07-12-2009, 11:44 AM
haven't used either, can't tell you. They might or might not fit. You might want to take the stock speakers out first to see what their dimensions are compared to the speakers you are going to buy. Worse case scenario you would have to cut out the door and make a baffle. Baffle is easy, cutting the door...not so much, but not bad.

Alright Thanks.
well i was told that 6 1/2s were better and to just use these: adapters. (http://cgi.ebay.com/SPEAKERS-ADAPTERS-5-25-6-5-5x7-6x8-TO-6X9_W0QQitemZ140331501736QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item20ac68c8a8&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65:12|66:2|39:1|72:1205|293:1|294:50)
I am not sure if they would work or not..?
Yeah... cutting would be a lil tough...

tylork92
07-12-2009, 11:47 AM
all the adapters are is a piece pf plastic that screws onto the factory location and gives you anotha set of screw holes for the new speaker to fit.

mik3v
07-12-2009, 02:42 PM
all the adapters are is a piece pf plastic that screws onto the factory location and gives you anotha set of screw holes for the new speaker to fit.

cool. so 6 1/2s should fit right?

mik3v
07-16-2009, 10:43 AM
should 6.5's fit guys?

tylork92
07-16-2009, 10:48 AM
witht the adapter they will.