PDA

View Full Version : Need Port Help...



HardHittaz00
07-06-2009, 04:13 AM
I was originally going to use four 6" aero ports along the top of the box, but now I'm wondering if it would be alright just to make a slot port out of mdf... It'd be a large price difference, but how would it sound? This is going in my daily driver, so I want it to sound good as well as get loud as hell... Should be 13 - 15 cubes, haven't gotten to measure exactly yet. Housing four RE SE 15" with a Hifonics Colossus XXV powering them.
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b280/DriftinStratus00/011.jpg

dappa5
07-06-2009, 08:58 AM
1 slot port along the top will be ok just triple ckeck the math and then ckeck it again

jdawg
07-06-2009, 09:01 AM
i like aeros myself

power-fanatic07
07-06-2009, 09:02 AM
or you could do a square/rectangle port in between the 2 on the bottom. somethin like 12x18 would give you 216 sqin of port.

its_bacon12
07-06-2009, 09:10 AM
It will likely cause the tuning to be lower than projected because of the higher friction with increased surface area and non-curved bends.

It's not a bad thing unless you want to know your exact tuning frequency and are competing using sine waves at certain freqs.

dappa5
07-06-2009, 09:59 AM
It will likely cause the tuning to be lower than projected because of the higher friction with increased surface area and non-curved bends.

It's not a bad thing unless you want to know your exact tuning frequency and are competing using sine waves at certain freqs.


again i STRESS ckeck the math and dbl ckck it

HardHittaz00
07-06-2009, 02:22 PM
Yeah, I don't want to put anything in between the 2 bottom subs, I wanna try to keep it up on top where that mdf piece is... I would love to do aero ports, as I've never had a chance to work with them before, but it's be $155 + shipping to get 4 of them... I just don't want to go through all this work and have it sound like garbage... Hopefully I'll be done with it by the end of this week and I can use the packing peanuts method to find out how many cubes it is exactly... I'm thinking I should take it to about 32 - 35Hz...