PDA

View Full Version : Port placement question



gearhound17
07-02-2009, 04:59 PM
I am in the middle of putting together my new ported box for my RE SE's.
I am using Re's box designer.
I want to run sub forward/port up.
My question is does the L shaped port always need to be aligned the same way in relation to the subs?
As in the L shaped port is always oriented the same way with the subs?
I dont think I can add the port to the top of the box and fire the subs forward. Or can I?
Man I better slow down or I am going to confuse myself...
Please let me know.
Thanks guys.

krainium
07-02-2009, 05:02 PM
No difference.

dman4486
07-02-2009, 05:04 PM
it can be done...

PIITB Wut Wut
07-02-2009, 05:05 PM
its done all the time.......

gearhound17
07-02-2009, 05:11 PM
Ok guys.
Thanks for the fast responses!

gearhound17
07-02-2009, 06:59 PM
I know you guys said it would work but please check these pics out.
I am ready to glue and assemble but need to be absolutely sure this port set up will not create any problems.
And yes the top panel is a bit short. Will fix that later on during assembly.

First pic is with port installed. On right side of pic will be where subs are mounted.

http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x123/gearhound17/IMG_2486.jpg


This second one is the top installed. You can see how port sits inside when top is on.

http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x123/gearhound17/IMG_2487.jpg

ciaonzo
07-02-2009, 07:02 PM
If you mount that board as it's shown you will lose the effectiveness of the length after the bend.

krainium
07-02-2009, 07:02 PM
No that will not work

MakeshiftAudio
07-02-2009, 07:04 PM
If you mount that board as it's shown you will lose the effectiveness of the length after the bend.

x2

gearhound17
07-02-2009, 07:07 PM
So what can I do to fix it?
I have plenty of mdf.
So it looks to me as if the L shaped port will need to be attached to the top.
So port attached to top and subs forward.
How do I use RE's calculator to change the size of my port since my ports I just cut are shorter than the width of the top?

ciaonzo
07-02-2009, 07:09 PM
Just keep the partitions in place that are for the port, make a new top without a hole for the vent opening, and shorten the length for the board that will have the drivers mounted to it. So you'll have the drivers and the vent opening/terminus on the same side.

gearhound17
07-02-2009, 07:35 PM
Just keep the partitions in place that are for the port, make a new top without a hole for the vent opening, and shorten the length for the board that will have the drivers mounted to it. So you'll have the drivers and the vent opening/terminus on the same side.

That was how I had it originally.
So how does someone do subs forward/port top with a rectangular vent?

I would prefer the port be the only thing seen not the port and subs.

ciaonzo
07-02-2009, 07:38 PM
That was how I had it originally.
So how does someone do subs forward/port top with a rectangular vent?

I would prefer the port be the only thing seen not the port and subs.

In this case you would need to make the enclosure a bit taller/deeper (whichever the case may be) to allow for the motors to clear the vent partitions.

krainium
07-02-2009, 07:39 PM
What ever your port area is now make it the same on the the top and keep your port length the same.

G.W.Kush
07-02-2009, 07:45 PM
I know you guys said it would work but please check these pics out.
I am ready to glue and assemble but need to be absolutely sure this port set up will not create any problems.
And yes the top panel is a bit short. Will fix that later on during assembly.

First pic is with port installed. On right side of pic will be where subs are mounted.

http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x123/gearhound17/IMG_2486.jpg


This second one is the top installed. You can see how port sits inside when top is on.

http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x123/gearhound17/IMG_2487.jpg

umm....


i think that port....opening....is

dude honestly WTF.

i think you totally ****ed up your box with this "top port" of yours


the port length.....



amagad this is the funniest **** ive seen in a long time

G.W.Kush
07-02-2009, 07:47 PM
your port should be on the same side as the subwoofer. as its clearing facing that way in the pictures.

u cant just port another side of the box with a hole.

u need to design the enclosure with the port CORRECTLY.

ciaonzo
07-02-2009, 07:50 PM
umm....


i think that port....opening....is

dude honestly WTF.

i think you totally ****ed up your box with this "top port" of yours


the port length.....



amagad this is the funniest **** ive seen in a long time

Is this your version of helping someone?

gearhound17
07-02-2009, 07:54 PM
umm....


i think that port....opening....is

dude honestly WTF.

i think you totally ****ed up your box with this "top port" of yours


the port length.....



amagad this is the funniest **** ive seen in a long time


Thanks for your honesty bro.
This was a sub front/port front from RE's site.
I am not simply blindly throwing things together.
I just preferred to have port up/subs front because I heard that was loudest in extra cab trucks.
I guess since my familiarity to slot vented enclosures is kinda low I will build it as it was designed by RE.

bubbagumper6
07-02-2009, 08:59 PM
Honestly dude, you should just build it like it was designed (both firing forward) It is possible to redesign it to have the port firing up, but it would be more hassle than it's worth.

gearhound17
07-02-2009, 09:05 PM
Honestly dude, you should just build it like it was designed (both firing forward) It is possible to redesign it to have the port firing up, but it would be more hassle than it's worth.

I am going to do just that. Thanks.