PDA

View Full Version : cutting a square with a router



bizzy07
06-24-2009, 03:58 PM
Had a friend come to me today with a box made for L7's completely built but without the sub cutouts. He wants me to cut them out with my router. How would I go about doing this with accuracy? I have cut many circles and my jasper does very well but never a square. I could go with a jigsaw but I hate how they cut. I was thinking about clamping a board on the line but my clamps wont reach. If I screw the board to the piece it jumps while threading and knocks my mark off. Any suggestions???

krainium
06-24-2009, 04:00 PM
I use double sided tape some times to hold my jigs in place.

psych0ticnemes1
06-24-2009, 04:00 PM
Simple... Draw the square on the baffle... Use a straight edge or piece of wood as a guide. Measure x distance away from the line. Secure the guide with weight or whatever else works. Be innovative. Make your rout. Repeat for all four sides.

wu501
06-24-2009, 04:01 PM
clamp a board on each side and use a flush cut bit.

bizzy07
06-24-2009, 04:05 PM
I have the square drawn out and everything. Securing the guide is where I am having problems because the only thing I can do is screw it down and when the screw bites it throws me off a little.

Williams37
06-24-2009, 04:06 PM
Just use a jigsaw...

ciaonzo
06-24-2009, 04:07 PM
I have the square drawn out and everything. Securing the guide is where I am having problems because the only thing I can do is screw it down and when the screw bites it throws me off a little.

Countersink.

bizzy07
06-24-2009, 04:08 PM
Just use a jigsaw...

Believe me I am thinking about it. If he wants it perfect ill hand him some sand paper haha.

jco1385
06-24-2009, 04:12 PM
use a steady hand. fawk the guide ;)

thehardknoxlife
06-24-2009, 04:16 PM
Umm, why not just use a circular saw?

bizzy07
06-24-2009, 04:17 PM
I don't know if I trust myself free hand with a router yet. Seems like things go wrong quickly at 25,000 RPM

psych0ticnemes1
06-24-2009, 04:23 PM
Umm, why not just use a circular saw?

To cut out a subwoofer hole? Explain that one to me.


I don't know if I trust myself free hand with a router yet. Seems like things go wrong quickly at 25,000 RPM

Yea, not a great idea.

thehardknoxlife
06-24-2009, 04:24 PM
dbl post

thehardknoxlife
06-24-2009, 04:25 PM
To cut out a subwoofer hole? Explain that one to me.



Yea, not a great idea.
It's a square....Line the guide up, plunge the blade, cut straight. Very easy and fast.

Savag3
06-24-2009, 04:27 PM
wood guides / counter sink the screws holding the guides / end

James Bang
06-24-2009, 04:30 PM
guide and clamps = no screw holes.

Nut Hair Trick
06-24-2009, 04:31 PM
Umm, why not just use a circular saw?

yup i was about to say, plunge cut with circular saw, stop short at the corners, do all 4 sides and finish the corners off with the jig

bizzy07
06-24-2009, 04:33 PM
I have some scrap ill try a few different things out.

psych0ticnemes1
06-24-2009, 04:36 PM
It's a square....Line the guide up, plunge the blade, cut straight. Very easy and fast.

Nice, never though of that.

jco1385
06-24-2009, 04:39 PM
Nice, never though of that.

only works for square subs though ;)

BassMechkanic
06-24-2009, 05:41 PM
they make a jig for that

http://www.mobilesolutions-usa.com/smartparts/RA-FKRT-RouterTool.htm

mmouse57
06-24-2009, 08:13 PM
a good jigsaw like a bosh will do it perfectly

if using a router use a top ball baring flush bit
its like a lamanete bit where the ball baring is at the bottom but its at the top so you cut 4 peices of wood as a guide use 2 dads of suberglue on eachstrait peice of wood or clamp them if oyu can and cut the square

tons of ways to do it take your time and do it right or use a non caffinie hand and jigsaw it :)

hell make a frame with 4 peices of wood so you can jsut clamp the entire frame to the top of the box then sue the top ball baring trim bit :)

its called a template bit btw and homedepot has them for $22
http://www.routerbits.com/3004.gif

jpexpc
06-24-2009, 08:22 PM
I just tried it but it's not sharp enough. Routers FTL. :fyi:






















































http://geniushackers.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/linksys-router.jpg

mobeious
06-24-2009, 08:24 PM
y does it need to be exact.. its a L7

BassMechkanic
06-24-2009, 11:26 PM
i rough trim it with a jig saw with in 1/8 inch, then use a router to get exact with a jig and flush bit.

tr10av
06-25-2009, 12:58 AM
I don't know if I trust myself free hand with a router yet. Seems like things go wrong quickly at 25,000 RPM

Yea, don't mess with that. I was using a router in 6th grade and wasn't holding the board steady and it started chattering and flew off the router and my pinky went through instead. It ended up alright though just a little damage to my finger but nothing groteque.

406er
06-25-2009, 01:05 AM
flush trim bit as posted above, some scrap strips of MDF 2" wide or so. mark out where ya want the hole and brad nail the MDF strips down to act as a guide for the flush bit. and then get your router ON

boomintahoe
06-25-2009, 01:00 PM
Rough out using a jigsaw. Then later draw out your lines for the router use and use a nice MDF straight edge then use C-clamps for the MDF edge. This will guide your router on its edge and you'll get nice clean cuts everytime.

boomintahoe
06-25-2009, 01:03 PM
they make a jig for that

http://www.mobilesolutions-usa.com/smartparts/RA-FKRT-RouterTool.htm

Not sure if he's got several 100 bux to spend. Dam that expensive...

ramos
06-25-2009, 01:09 PM
By the time you get done waiting for the perfect answer, then go out and setup guides for the router. I would have cut multiple cutouts with the jigsaw and starting on the beer. :)

Nut Hair Trick
06-25-2009, 01:09 PM
Not sure if he's got several 100 bux to spend. Dam that expensive...

yeah thats some bullshit right there. I dont guess they want to sell very many of thums