PDA

View Full Version : TB 5.25" sub



sqhertz
06-21-2009, 07:11 PM
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l153/sqhertz/TBBox.jpg


this is what ive come up with as far as an L-port box for this sub - http://www.parts-express.com//pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=264-831


i do know that a pvc/aero port will be better , but i already have the glue and wood to make this one.

if you cant read that small , the box is

0.8 cuft @ 36hz
11.25 sqin of port
26.6 in total port length.


is it too big? too much port? i know that box calculator is garbage , but its all i have right now. suggestions?

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 07:13 PM
sweet sub man :D

Random1010
06-21-2009, 07:14 PM
sounds too big for a 5.25" but who knows.

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 07:15 PM
sweet sub man :D



yeah it is. i have it sealed now , but i need to get rid of my extra wood i have before i move.

:)

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 07:16 PM
sounds too big for a 5.25" but who knows.



it does.

iirc , i was suggested .7-.8 cuft @ 32-30 hz , but i cant remember by who.

:confused:



btw , this is for my computer setup.

the TABAQ is next. http://coolcat.dk/bjoern/TABAQ_TL_for_TB.pdf ;)

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 07:20 PM
yeah it is. i have it sealed now , but i need to get rid of my extra wood i have before i move.

:)

nice man, ill probably pick up 2 of this the reviews are pretty nice on this, i'm building a computer system soon.

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 07:21 PM
it does.

iirc , i was suggested .7-.8 cuft @ 32-30 hz , but i cant remember by who.

:confused:



btw , this is for my computer setup.

the TABAQ is next. http://coolcat.dk/bjoern/TABAQ_TL_for_TB.pdf ;)

oooh your bulding a computer set up too? haha nice

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 07:22 PM
nice man, ill probably pick up 2 of this the reviews are pretty nice on this, i'm building a computer system soon.



doo iiit.

i have it on the 25w plate amp and it fills my 10x10ft bedroom very easily.
if you have a larger room , id say go for the 6.5" and the 40?w or 70w plate amp.

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 07:24 PM
oooh your bulding a computer set up too? haha nice



yep.

the speakers in the avatar are one of the TB 3"s.

i got them over a year ago , and just slapped together sealed boxes and called it a day. but since im moving in a few weeks and i have 4-5 sheets of .5" and .75"mdf , i figured id build these.

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 07:32 PM
doo iiit.

i have it on the 25w plate amp and it fills my 10x10ft bedroom very easily.
if you have a larger room , id say go for the 6.5" and the 40?w or 70w plate amp.

for 2 of those a 70w plate amp will be plenty? were can i buy those amps? and what other connections etc would i need? also would that amp provide connections for the voice/highs?

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 07:36 PM
for 2 of those a 70w plate amp will be plenty? were can i buy those amps? and what other connections etc would i need? also would that amp provide connections for the voice/highs?


yeah , i have my 5.25" on 25w.

parts express has the dayton plate amps (wait till theyre on sale though)

connections? just speaker wire and screws iirc. i have the speaker outs from my t-amp to the high-level inputs on the plate amp , then from there out to the 3"s.

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 07:51 PM
yeah , i have my 5.25" on 25w.

parts express has the dayton plate amps (wait till theyre on sale though)

connections? just speaker wire and screws iirc. i have the speaker outs from my t-amp to the high-level inputs on the plate amp , then from there out to the 3"s.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-805

i was lookin at that amp.. looks beast

so i would get the sub stage and high stage working only from this amp? dam'n thats nice..

i already have some extra car audio components would those run fine off this amp?

JBLCAMRY
06-21-2009, 07:56 PM
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/100_2231.jpg

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 08:00 PM
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-805

i was lookin at that amp.. looks beast

so i would get the sub stage and high stage working only from this amp? dam'n thats nice..

i already have some extra car audio components would those run fine off this amp?


dayton makes great amps.
but no , you will need a separate amp for your mains. what i posted was how i got signal to both the sub and t-amp. audiosource has a 50 x 2 amp on PE for ~$100 iirc. or you can do what everyone else does and get an older used 2 channel receiver from ebay.



http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/100_2231.jpg



nice box as always.

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 08:04 PM
here is a 3 channel that would work as well - http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-774

madisound also has a keiga (buildhouse for eD's amps , iirc) 3 channel for a bit more than the dayton.

daytons t-amp - http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-380
i have one , but made by sonic impact. it has got ALOT of great reviews and compared to $1000+ home audio amplifiers.

JBLCAMRY
06-21-2009, 08:06 PM
nice box as always.

yeah, i have had that tb5.25 for a while now. nice little sub. I have never had more than 15-20 watts going to it though. :crap:

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/100_0560.jpg

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 08:08 PM
yeah, i have had that tb5.25 for a while now. nice little sub. I have never had more than 15-20 watts going to it though. :crap:



**** , thats all they need to get loud in a small-sized bedroom. :p:

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 08:16 PM
dayton makes great amps.
but no , you will need a separate amp for your mains. what i posted was how i got signal to both the sub and t-amp. audiosource has a 50 x 2 amp on PE for ~$100 iirc. or you can do what everyone else does and get an older used 2 channel receiver from ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/SONY-STR-VX550-Digital-Stereo-Receiver-Audio-Video-NR_W0QQitemZ280358860648QQcmdZViewItemQQptZReceive rs_Tuners?hash=item4146b0b768&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1205%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

would this one do the job?

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 08:20 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/SONY-STR-VX550-Digital-Stereo-Receiver-Audio-Video-NR_W0QQitemZ280358860648QQcmdZViewItemQQptZReceive rs_Tuners?hash=item4146b0b768&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1205%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

would this one do the job?


lol , im not too sure as i dont know much about HT stuff. maybe someone who does will chime in?

but JBLCAMRY , do you have any input on that box i posted?

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 08:23 PM
lol , im not too sure as i dont know much about HT stuff. maybe someone who does will chime in?

but JBLCAMRY , do you have any input on that box i posted?

aaaah i see.. thanks anyways man

someone help:veryhapp:

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 09:18 PM
ttt

JBLCAMRY
06-21-2009, 09:42 PM
i would say it is on the big side. but it will be effiecent.

MmatsDude
06-21-2009, 09:44 PM
i would say it is on the big side. but it will be effiecent.

any idea on some receivers to run my highs? or are you talking about the one from the ebay link i posted?:confused:

sqhertz
06-21-2009, 09:46 PM
i would say it is on the big side. but it will be effiecent.



thats what i was thinking. would i loose some top end?

this really isnt my main concern (TABAQ nom nom), so if it does come out ****** , im not really out anything.

what ever happened to subwoofertools?

JBLCAMRY
06-21-2009, 09:50 PM
any idea on some receivers to run my highs? or are you talking about the one from the ebay link i posted?:confused:

i was refering to the op's question about the box.

boomintahoe
06-22-2009, 09:46 PM
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-805

i was lookin at that amp.. looks beast

so i would get the sub stage and high stage working only from this amp? dam'n thats nice..

i already have some extra car audio components would those run fine off this amp?

Just bought that same amp brand new...not from PE either, gotta killer deal on it. It will be powering this when I buy it very soon http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-456

sqhertz
06-22-2009, 11:04 PM
Just bought that same amp brand new...not from PE either, gotta killer deal on it. It will be powering this when I buy it very soon http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-456



ive always wanted one of those 8's.
i think ill be throwing one in my next setup in whatever vehicle i get.

sqhertz
06-25-2009, 11:23 PM
anyone else?