PDA

View Full Version : Debating on my enclosure again



Buck
06-19-2009, 11:56 PM
For my hdc310a. Since I only have 1500w or so to throw to it, I was thinking of putting it in a larger than recommended box, tuned to 36 hz. I don't know if I should do this or not. I can never make up my mind about it.

fasfocus00
06-20-2009, 12:02 AM
just stick to what DJ says, no need to deviate from the creators.

Buck
06-20-2009, 12:07 AM
just stick to what DJ says, no need to deviate from the creators.

I would disagree. Not be argumentative. A larger box with this power is going to be louder than the 1.5 cubic feet "ideal" box. I would make the box to specs, but I am lacking power at this moment in time. Also, imo it would allow me to hit the lows better.

Buck
06-20-2009, 12:54 AM
bump i guess

DonH
06-20-2009, 12:56 AM
go for 2ft^3

couldnt hurt but you have to experiment good sir :D

Buck
06-20-2009, 12:58 AM
go for 2ft^3

couldnt hurt but you have to experiment good sir :D

not many people tend to go on any adventures these days....

I was actually thinking 2 cubic feet myself. Or maybe 2.25.

mbrooky
06-20-2009, 02:18 AM
not many people tend to go on any adventures these days....

I was actually thinking 2 cubic feet myself. Or maybe 2.25.

i say go for it...would be a cool expirement...in theory it should work well

mazdakid
06-20-2009, 09:55 AM
I would disagree. Not be argumentative. A larger box with this power is going to be louder than the 1.5 cubic feet "ideal" box. I would make the box to specs, but I am lacking power at this moment in time. Also, imo it would allow me to hit the lows better.

Why are you even asking if you already know its going to be louder?

Skip01
06-20-2009, 10:02 AM
Why are you even asking if you already know its going to be louder?

Haha. Crazy kids.


You have 500 watts more than RMS, why do you think you don't have enough power?

I'd do 1.5cu @ 38hz with 2 4in aeros firing up , sub forward.

Lakota
06-20-2009, 01:44 PM
There's a point to where you are going to lose output if you go too big. Yeah the efficiency will be good, but you're approaching the "free air" territory.

Skip01
06-20-2009, 02:00 PM
There's a point to where you are going to lose output if you go too big. Yeah the efficiency will be good, but you're approaching the "free air" territory.

My name is Ben Hemp, I put quotation marks around free air cuz I'm hella awesome.



ZINGGGGG!!!!!!!

Lakota
06-21-2009, 12:14 AM
Yes.