PDA

View Full Version : head unit watts un used



zoolander
06-16-2009, 10:20 PM
im using a crunch 4 channel amp 900 watts to run 4 6x8's in my 2002 f250.

my question is, can i use the watts from the head unit to run some tweeters? the head unit i have is Pioneer AVIC-F900BT \RB. i dont think it will work because the RCA's are ran to the amp.

revrider1
06-16-2009, 10:21 PM
Hmm

BeAlLsTaR13
06-16-2009, 10:21 PM
if you ran power from your HU to tweeters you'd need a crossover else it will sound like crap

bladebarrier
06-16-2009, 10:56 PM
if you ran power from your HU to tweeters you'd need a crossover else it will sound like crap

Yep, plus you'll destroy them without a crossover as it will send bass signals to them as well as highs. Of course a cheap crossover can be made by hand using easy to buy parts.

However.....

Typically head units generally produce less line level output signal if the internal amp is being used to drive speakers off of it.

To top it all off, your deck will distort before your line out will, which means you'll need to further reduce your max dynamic range by running at a lower deck volume (and forcing a higher amp input gain) in order to not clip the tweeters, even though the rest of the system would be chugging along ok. So now your let's say 4v rca output might really only be able to be used at say 500mv.