PDA

View Full Version : Good SPL?



SPLluminator
06-10-2009, 05:53 PM
Ive got a 8445 Eclipse HU. I was wondering what settings you guys prefer when you look into buying a HU for SPL. Im thinking of getting a new one but am unsure what to look for and what to stay away from. Thanks,
Mike

djman37
06-10-2009, 05:56 PM
memory buffer, output voltage, remote, pause, pause on the remote.

i personally like my dead-head Eclipse 8053. I can turn it all the way up with no clipping.

SPLluminator
06-10-2009, 06:00 PM
I have 8V outputs, but i think 5v is more than enough wouldnt you think? Im looking to stay around 200 when the time comes.

galacticmonkey
06-10-2009, 06:32 PM
Honestly most of the Superstreet and Extreme class cars that I see doing huge numbers have old *** ghetto looking HUs.

littlepucker
06-10-2009, 06:33 PM
They just use linout converters for high voltage preouts. Sir.

djman37
06-10-2009, 07:15 PM
I have 8V outputs, but i think 5v is more than enough wouldnt you think? Im looking to stay around 200 when the time comes.

sure. it really depends on your end product; number of amps, processing, etc. my D9's don't like high input voltage. my 8v are throttled WAY back.

djman37
06-10-2009, 07:17 PM
i guess the unit also depends on the org. and class. some you can hold the HU outside the vehicle. my particular class makes you have an IDENTICAL unit mounted in the dash to be able to hold one outside the vehicle...others don't.

AudioAnonymous
06-10-2009, 07:19 PM
The best SPL head units aren't even made anymore and haven't been made for awhile now.

AudioAnonymous
06-10-2009, 07:20 PM
They just use linout converters for high voltage preouts. Sir.

Wrong.

SPLluminator
06-10-2009, 07:21 PM
The best SPL head units aren't even made anymore and haven't been made for awhile now.

Hrmm. Can you give me an example?

AudioAnonymous
06-10-2009, 07:28 PM
Hrmm. Can you give me an example?

Yes. Sony or some of the older copper chassis head units.