PDA

View Full Version : First Box Build



Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 07:22 PM
This is going to be me and my buddies first box build so we have no idea what we are buying. I need to know what type of wood to use, how thick it needs to be, and what glue to use, do i use screws? or just glue? Tell what brands of glue are best. This is what i ended up with for 2 RE SE 15's did i do it right? We went optimal output, so the site says 34HZ so is this close enough? i may be way off so please help, i have to learn how to do this at some point.

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/enclosure.jpg

Pioneer~Saturn
06-08-2009, 07:28 PM
Unless you have tons of clamps then screws are perfectly fine. 1 5/8" coarse thread drywall screws with a 3/32" pre-drill is pretty much standard.

As for the tuning, once the subs are dropped in the tuning will rise just a little because they'll take up airspace. When using this calculator I like to go a bit under what youre aiming for tuning-wise.

Also, I would consider double-baffling it or putting in some supports if the subs are going to be getting any kind of real power.

And I just saw the airspace..:crap:...that's a very small enclosure, I would go larger

talon09
06-08-2009, 07:35 PM
for 2 15s agreed that it needs to be bigger that box would work for one

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 08:23 PM
how thick does the wood need to be? what glue do i use?

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 08:25 PM
Will anyone thats bored do the calculator for me please? :) i obviously have no idea what i am doing with that, i can build the box no problem i just cant figure out the schematics

HypnoticCure
06-08-2009, 08:25 PM
much much bigger for a couple 15's and you will more then likely use 3/5" mdf and wood glue...

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 08:26 PM
Unless you have tons of clamps then screws are perfectly fine. 1 5/8" coarse thread drywall screws with a 3/32" pre-drill is pretty much standard.

As for the tuning, once the subs are dropped in the tuning will rise just a little because they'll take up airspace. When using this calculator I like to go a bit under what youre aiming for tuning-wise.

Also, I would consider double-baffling it or putting in some supports if the subs are going to be getting any kind of real power.

And I just saw the airspace..:crap:...that's a very small enclosure, I would go larger


i will be feeding them with a MD2D so will the supports be a good idea? where do i put them? i am lost.

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 08:28 PM
much much bigger for a couple 15's and you will more then likely use 3/5" mdf and wood glue...

will titebond 2 work fine?

bubbagumper6
06-08-2009, 08:28 PM
It would help if you posted what your maximum dimensions are.

Like "The biggest box I can fit is X wide by X tall by X deep. (make sure you can fit it through your trunk opening too, lol)

Also for the glue, Liquid Nails is great

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 08:33 PM
what we have to work with is

width- 34"
Height- 18"
Deep- 21" max

and we already made sure we will be able to get it into the trunk. its going in an 03 impala

bubbagumper6
06-08-2009, 08:36 PM
if your max width is 34" why did you use 35" on your original design? lol

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 08:38 PM
messed up, big deal, anyone else want to figure it out for me? the measurements i just gave are right, we double checked. now if someone can actually help me other than wasting my time with bullshit posts i would appreciate it.

bubbagumper6
06-08-2009, 08:39 PM
wow, dude calm down. I was trying to help you, but if your going to be pissy about it then you can **** off.

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 08:47 PM
I'm not getting pissy i just wasnt aware that this was the Enclosure Design & Construction Help and be a **** thread. Obviously i dont know what i am doing so maybe you can hold back on the smart *** posts. If you want to help awesome if not please go talk somewhere else.

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 09:01 PM
i just got this from Greg at US amps whatever it means.

8.81 cubic ft gross internal volume

105 square inches of port area

Port length of 25 inches.

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 09:21 PM
is this better? or am i heading the wrong way with this?

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/enclosure2.jpg

krainium
06-08-2009, 09:25 PM
You only have enough room for one 15

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 09:27 PM
You only have enough room for one 15

with this box build, or with the trunk we are working with?

krainium
06-08-2009, 09:30 PM
what we have to work with is

width- 34"
Height- 18"
Deep- 21" max

and we already made sure we will be able to get it into the trunk. its going in an 03 impala

^^^^^ In this space

Ryan1126
06-08-2009, 09:35 PM
what if we were able to go deeper? we would find a different place to mount the amps.

krainium
06-08-2009, 09:41 PM
Your at 5 cubic feet you need 8 or so.:confused::confused:

SELF MADE
06-08-2009, 09:47 PM
Use 3/4 MDF wood (About 34$ a sheet at Home Depot) and Titebond II Wood glue.

aaronrchr
06-08-2009, 09:56 PM
Yeah dude, anyway you can find space in that trunk, use it. That's a whole lot of box trying to fit into what seems to be a small trunk. And the 2nd calc that u used showed a frequency of 17 hz. If you gimme a sec I'll see if i can get you something a little better.

aaronrchr
06-08-2009, 10:03 PM
Ok...I tried and failed, with that RE calculator, or maybe just in general. The space limitations you have are gonna be a ***** trying to figure out a box that works. You'd probably have to build the box in the trunk to get it just right with tuning and space limitations.

cshaw
06-09-2009, 01:15 AM
you'd be better off sealing them or just doing one in the right box ported rather than 2 in a bad box. heres a good box for one 15 ported
enter this;
33.25
18
21
21
.75
4.5
10

74.2 sq in of port, 4.472 volume and with proper bracing and sub displacement, tuning will end up close enough to 34hz.:cool:

Cloak559
06-09-2009, 02:00 AM
Okay dude...two SE 15"s, ive done this setup time and time again...6 Cubes net, 35 Hz Tune, 60-80 Sq.in Port. 8 cubes is way too much for those guys...What type of vehicle is this going in?

Ryan1126
06-09-2009, 02:18 PM
I talked him down to 12's because it would have been a pain in the *** to get 2 15's in that trunk. We got the box to were it was supposed to be according to Greg at RE and it wouldnt have fit through the opening for the trunk. so we have all the sides mapped out, we start cutting today, ill post pics up in the build log, so you guys can see how bad we **** up for our first time.

Ryan1126
06-09-2009, 09:37 PM
MDF *****, it covered my whole front yard in saw dust. I had a quick question, do i caulk the inside of the box? or just glue?

Ryan1126
06-09-2009, 10:05 PM
if someone could answer that i would really appreciate it, so that i can get started on assembling the box.

bread0710
06-09-2009, 10:10 PM
MDF *****, it covered my whole front yard in saw dust. I had a quick question, do i caulk the inside of the box? or just glue?

i put caulk on the inside of mine.

Spooney
06-09-2009, 11:05 PM
the glue does a pretty good job of sealing the box up if all your cuts are fairly straight but i still always silicone all the internal seams just to be sure its sealed up well. You don't want air escaping from anywhere other than your port.

Ryan1126
06-10-2009, 01:54 AM
any certain kinds i should use? or stay away from?

Cameron_B
06-10-2009, 05:48 PM
SEAL them



And im a ported guy.

These subs want to be sealed......your hurting them running them in a choked ported box. Seal them and throw them the power. (1500 rms=)

Ryan1126
06-10-2009, 10:45 PM
we ended up going with 12's

Quick question, what do you guys cut the holes with? **** seems sketchy to do with a jigsaw....

Ryan1126
06-10-2009, 10:49 PM
Help! i want this box done tonight!

SELFMADE
06-10-2009, 10:50 PM
Router and Jasper jig

Ryan1126
06-10-2009, 10:51 PM
never even heard of one....haha ****, anyone know of places that could do it for me?

mazdakid
06-10-2009, 11:49 PM
Use a jigsaw.

Ryan1126
06-11-2009, 02:11 PM
Kinda overkill on the screws and a lot of pictures but there was a lot of standing around waiting for the glue to dry and all. But im satisfied with my first box build. Just needs to be carpeted and cut the hole for the terminal.

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63471.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63472.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63473.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63474.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63475.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63476.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63477.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63478.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63479.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63481.jpg

Ryan1126
06-11-2009, 02:12 PM
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63484.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63485.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63486.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63487.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63488.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63489.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16/spaded1126/STP63490.jpg

Tone415
06-11-2009, 02:20 PM
What r the demensions of that box? and did it fit in the impala? i have a 00 impala

Ryan1126
06-11-2009, 08:59 PM
i have the plans out on the desktop ill PM them to you tonight.