PDA

View Full Version : 2 18's in a 2000 F150



Tom Gralewski
06-08-2009, 11:08 AM
I've wanted to do this for quite some time now and the bug has finally bitten me to get my *** moving on this project. Ive looked around for answers on an enclosure but found no real defined answer.

I want to run 2 HDC 18's in my extended cab f150. The room I have to work with is 24" deep. x 31 tall" x 56 wide. With subs and ports up. My question is what size enclosure would be adequate for these subs, and would 2 10" aeroports be enough for it? The subs will be seeing around 2k rms each. Hoping to have tuning in the 35hz range.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

silenkiller
06-08-2009, 11:14 AM
I'm pretty sure these 18 inch subs want like 9 cuft a piece.

dappa5
06-08-2009, 11:16 AM
do subs foward port up remove seat so box sits on floor and leave about 18" between port and roof

illbmeubu
06-08-2009, 11:25 AM
^^^^^x2. these subs only need about 6 cu ft ea, although there are people running them with only 5 cu ft for each.

ABSOLUTEAUDIO
06-08-2009, 11:28 AM
do subs foward port up remove seat so box sits on floor and leave about 18" between port and roof

Works very very well :)

dappa5
06-08-2009, 11:37 AM
see lol

Tom Gralewski
06-08-2009, 12:49 PM
already planned on removing the rear seats, and subs forward, port up it is. Now anyone know on the port area question?

illbmeubu
06-08-2009, 12:51 PM
the more port area, the better. with a box for 2 18s, I would say about 170 sq in of port area, if not more.

dappa5
06-08-2009, 01:10 PM
12 to 16 sq in per cube is norm but can go bigger to suit application

ABSOLUTEAUDIO
06-08-2009, 01:36 PM
My re audio MT build is 2 18's in 15cuft after sub and port displacment, with 245sqin port tuned to 33hz. with 2600rms each.I would try to stay around 15 to 16 sqin of port per cuft of enclosure.

Just303
06-08-2009, 04:00 PM
Just throwing this out there what about a Blow through from the bed?

dappa5
06-08-2009, 04:03 PM
no real need only 2 18's now 4 or more 15's and we can talk blow through lol

mlstrass
06-08-2009, 04:56 PM
16-18^2 of port area per NET cube of box volume...

Buck
06-08-2009, 05:04 PM
Take your rear panels off you can get 60" wide. You stole my idea!!! GL I want to see this man.

Tom Gralewski
06-08-2009, 05:21 PM
Take your rear panels off you can get 60" wide. You stole my idea!!! GL I want to see this man.

I noticed that, but I really dont need 60 wide. I may go a bit shorter so I can mount the amp vertical on one side. Hopefully it wont take too long to finish, as long as my ****ing rc cars sell :verymad: