PDA

View Full Version : External port question



Slo_Ride
06-01-2009, 10:22 PM
Almost all of the boxes I've seen with external ports have the ports to the side with the subs up. If I put external aeros on the same side of the box as my subs will it make a difference in output?

tommyk90
06-01-2009, 10:23 PM
What kind of vehicle?

Slo_Ride
06-01-2009, 10:24 PM
MR2, two seater mid engine car. Box will be behind seats

tommyk90
06-01-2009, 10:41 PM
The reason most people do external aeros is to get a higher SPL score for competitions.

Honestly, you won't notice much, if any, difference in output versus having them normally mounted.

Slo_Ride
06-01-2009, 10:48 PM
I'm thinking of running them because I have very little space and running externals will allow me to build a larger box.

Slo_Ride
06-01-2009, 10:58 PM
Box is 2.4 cubic feet, will two 3" ports be enough or should I use two 4" ports?

tommyk90
06-01-2009, 11:09 PM
I'm thinking of running them because I have very little space and running externals will allow me to build a larger box.

If it allows you have more airspace, then no harm done. :)


Box is 2.4 cubic feet, will two 3" ports be enough or should I use two 4" ports?

What kind of sub(s) and power?

Slo_Ride
06-02-2009, 06:41 AM
Four sundown E8's powered by a Sundown sae-1200, 1200 watts at 1 ohm.

93dakota
06-02-2009, 09:09 AM
I would go with the 4" ports but two me that still seems a little small you may want to get 3 4" ports. Though you could probably get away with just the two because they are aero's.

Slo_Ride
06-02-2009, 03:02 PM
No way I can do three 4" ports, dont have the room. I can barely fit two 4" ports. Two 3" ports would be much easier because of the difference in length. I want to run two 3" ports but not if I'm going to lose any output versus two 4" ports.

tommyk90
06-03-2009, 12:27 AM
2 4's would be the minimum I would do.