PDA

View Full Version : curious box question

d2freak82
06-01-2009, 12:34 AM
I was thinking of cutting my sub into my back seat, firing it straight into the cabin, my back seat does not fold down, and has a metal support. I figured I could either 1 reinforce it with mdf, and build the rest of the box around that, or just use the metal but I'm sure that would rattle like a mofo, so pretty sure that idea is out.
First question is, would this be an insanely crazy idea to take on as far as difficulty? This is my first try at a ported box.
Second, would you cut the port to fire through the seat, or up through the back deck (where the 6x9's are supposed to mount), gonna do with aero ports. haven't completely decided if I'm gonna go with 2 or 3 4"x 14" ports, kinda decides what frequency I run at. It calls for 2 on the 33hz@8b, and 3 on the 40hz@6db. I guess I could always redo it if I don't like the first box.

If it helps any this will be done with a 15, in a 96 grand am 4 door, I figure if I could do this the seat wouldn't eat up so much of the sound coming from the trunk, and it would look pretty **** cool.

bonesninja
06-01-2009, 12:37 AM
I was thinking of cutting my sub into my back, firing it straight into the cabin, my back seat does not fold down, and has a metal support. I figured I could either 1 reinforce it with mdf, and build the rest of the box around that, or just use the metal but I'm sure that would rattle like a mofo, so pretty sure that idea is out.
First question is, would this be an insanely crazy idea to take on as far as difficulty? This is my first try at a ported box.
Second, would you cut the port to fire through the seat, or up through the back deck (where the 6x9's are supposed to mount), gonna do with aero ports. haven't completely decided if I'm gonna go with 2 or 3 4"x 14" ports, kinda decides what frequency I run at. It calls for 2 on the 33hz@8b, and 3 on the 40hz@6db. I guess I could always redo it if I don't like the first box.