PDA

View Full Version : One 6" or Four 3" aero's for a 15?



7ender
05-31-2009, 10:15 PM
Well, iv'e been searching around and am deciding on my box design.

It's going to be a 4.0ft^3 box @32hz, and the sub is a IA Lethal Injection 15".


I'm not sure what size ports to use- one 6", two 6's, or three 4"s.

What would you guys do? I'm not sure if one 6" will give me enough port area (~28sq inchea), but iv'e heard quite a few people say that this is their preferred setup.

I'm aware of the 12-16" per cubic foot rule, but iv'e also heard alot of people say this only applies to slot ports and you can get away with much less for an aero setup.

So what would be the best port size here? Length isn't a factor as I can fit all of them in my box.


Thanks!

CRXBMPN
05-31-2009, 10:16 PM
either one 6 or two 4's, they are roughly the same area

jdawg
05-31-2009, 10:18 PM
six

RAM_Designs
05-31-2009, 10:21 PM
either one 6 or two 4's, they are roughly the same area

this

TheFiverMan
05-31-2009, 10:22 PM
3 4"s.

7ender
05-31-2009, 10:23 PM
Wow, fast responses. Thanks guys!

I guess i'll go with one six then- easiest/cheapest to make too.

Is there some rule like the 12-16inch/per cuft for slot ports that applies to aero's? One 6" port will give me a 7.06sqinch/cuft ratio.

Lakota
05-31-2009, 11:06 PM
Wasn't there a thread just asking the same thing?

DNick454
05-31-2009, 11:09 PM
I would always go with one large port over several smaller ones. The several smaller ones have more surface area on the inside of the ports and cause a bigger air resistance, it's nothing huge, but it can change the intended transient response of the box. Also, when you have several ports, small inconsistencies could be multiplied. For example, the PVC pipe you by has an inside diameter that is slightly bigger or smaller than the actual number you calculated for, it wouldn't be that big of a deal. Add up that inconsistency 4 times and it might be enough to change the box's sound. Plus, a big huge circle port that you can fit you're head in just looks cool :D

7ender
06-12-2009, 06:01 AM
I'm about to build my box- but I thought I would just ask one last time; one 6" port is enough for a 4cube box even though it's only ~28" of port?

I know you can get away with less than the standard 12-16" per foot rule, but with 28" I only have ~7" of port per cubic foot. That's okay?

Also, if I did not have flared ends would I want more port area than the 6"? From what I understand, the flared ends on an aero port allow the port to "seem" to have more port area, and hence you can get away with less.

7ender
06-12-2009, 04:42 PM
up

thehardknoxlife
06-12-2009, 04:58 PM
I vote 3 4" also. In a 4 cubic ft box, 3 factory length PSPs will get you pretty much exactly what you want.

Random1010
06-12-2009, 06:17 PM
1 6"

Lakota
06-12-2009, 07:19 PM
Box design dependent.

snb778
06-12-2009, 07:38 PM
6.5" :p::p: (im doin 2x15's with 2 of em)

DonH
06-12-2009, 07:44 PM
1 6"

basebalz13
06-12-2009, 08:12 PM
1 six fo sho

7ender
06-12-2009, 08:48 PM
Alright, looks like most people say one 6" so i'm definetely going to do that. I already had my box designed around that, but just wanted to make sure.


Thanks!

pokey_159
06-13-2009, 12:25 AM
i used 1 six inch. port and i think its easyer to tune and looks awesome .. check out my build log in my sig and i got some pics of it!

I Like Waffle
06-13-2009, 12:31 AM
One six ftmfw. Im doing a build soon with one 6. Alot easier and cheaper than doing a shitload of small ones. Plus you lose alot of airspace with that many small ones i would think.

mazdakid
06-13-2009, 09:58 AM
2 stock length 4" aeros will take up less space than a stock length 6" aero.
I have a 6" in about 4 cubes with my 15 right now and does pretty good.

Slo_Ride
06-13-2009, 10:33 AM
I would do four 4" ports. I run a 6" in my 2.4 cube box.

SavageBlackout
06-13-2009, 10:47 AM
1 6" 1 large port is more efficient than several small ones. i run a 12" port and i only have 7 sq inches per foot, and i have no port noise