View Full Version : pvc for port

05-30-2009, 09:30 PM
can i use regular pvc pipe to make my port for my 3 armaggedon 15s and if so how much port do i need

05-30-2009, 09:32 PM
sure you can. and as many ports as you want. be aware you are more liable to port noise w/o the use of flares.

05-30-2009, 09:34 PM
ok would be the best way to make the ports hold ive never built aeros before only slots

05-30-2009, 09:42 PM
screws and glue.

05-30-2009, 09:42 PM
screws and glue.

Thats what i used on your mom

05-30-2009, 09:44 PM
I have a 10" round PVC port with 2 15's. Cant remember the length. Cut your hole close to the OD of the pvc pipe and epoxy it to the box and finish. I added a coupling to the inside part of my port and uses a round over bit on it, actually a Corian sink round over/angle bit. Used it on the outside of the box too.

With my 10" port I dont have any port noise with my 15's.

05-30-2009, 09:45 PM
get some 6" pvc from lowes or just use the concrete tubes, i think they go up to 12 or 14"

05-30-2009, 09:55 PM
good way to keep it from coming unglued is drill holes at the end of the pipe and holes in the wood so the glue grabs good. hot glue works well then silicone over it.

05-30-2009, 10:00 PM
I plan on doing this for my box as well, 2 8" external ports for an 18" APXX for a total of 100.5 square inches of port area. There are some drain adapters that work really well for flaring, and for connecting on the box, though I don't have a lot of room so I'm just doing a similar direct glue method mentioned above.

05-30-2009, 10:07 PM
ok i was planning on doing around 120 inches of port if i went slot what would that be equal to if i went with the pvc

05-30-2009, 10:09 PM
also ive heard of people doing 45s out of mdf in the corners and others using like 3/4 inch pvc which would be better

05-31-2009, 12:55 PM