PDA

View Full Version : pvc for port



camaroaudio69
05-30-2009, 08:30 PM
can i use regular pvc pipe to make my port for my 3 armaggedon 15s and if so how much port do i need

fbi90909
05-30-2009, 08:32 PM
sure you can. and as many ports as you want. be aware you are more liable to port noise w/o the use of flares.

camaroaudio69
05-30-2009, 08:34 PM
ok would be the best way to make the ports hold ive never built aeros before only slots

fbi90909
05-30-2009, 08:42 PM
screws and glue.

chase007
05-30-2009, 08:42 PM
screws and glue.

Thats what i used on your mom

fshanda
05-30-2009, 08:44 PM
I have a 10" round PVC port with 2 15's. Cant remember the length. Cut your hole close to the OD of the pvc pipe and epoxy it to the box and finish. I added a coupling to the inside part of my port and uses a round over bit on it, actually a Corian sink round over/angle bit. Used it on the outside of the box too.

With my 10" port I dont have any port noise with my 15's.

mazdakid
05-30-2009, 08:45 PM
get some 6" pvc from lowes or just use the concrete tubes, i think they go up to 12 or 14"

gotparts90
05-30-2009, 08:55 PM
good way to keep it from coming unglued is drill holes at the end of the pipe and holes in the wood so the glue grabs good. hot glue works well then silicone over it.

MakeshiftAudio
05-30-2009, 09:00 PM
I plan on doing this for my box as well, 2 8" external ports for an 18" APXX for a total of 100.5 square inches of port area. There are some drain adapters that work really well for flaring, and for connecting on the box, though I don't have a lot of room so I'm just doing a similar direct glue method mentioned above.

camaroaudio69
05-30-2009, 09:07 PM
ok i was planning on doing around 120 inches of port if i went slot what would that be equal to if i went with the pvc

camaroaudio69
05-30-2009, 09:09 PM
also ive heard of people doing 45s out of mdf in the corners and others using like 3/4 inch pvc which would be better

camaroaudio69
05-31-2009, 11:55 AM
anyone