PDA

View Full Version : first comp with my dc audio subs



scfaust
05-30-2009, 12:09 AM
i did my first comp with this set up i was consistant hiting 149s the highest was 149.5 the lowest was 149.3 i took second first whent to
bills http://www.stevemeadedesigns.com/boa...=420&start=420 who hit i think 155 but i dont feel bad i have 2 15 on 1 sundown 3000 with 2 powermaster batts my box is tuned at 35hz he has 2 level 5 with 4 amps totaling 8000 watts and thay r under rated with 6 of the biggest kinetik batts oh i did sealed with music he did sealed with tones if it makes a difrence

scfaust
05-30-2009, 12:36 AM
here a video im in lane one 2 15 dc level 4's with a sundown 3000d the guy in lane 2 had 2 15 inch quantum audio and 2 quantum audio amps 4500d i think thay could of been the 4000a/b i cant remimber
http://s34.photobucket.com/albums/d124/kbills/?action=view&current=100_2911.flv

bunkerking09
05-30-2009, 12:38 AM
good job mayne!

alvitae
05-30-2009, 12:43 AM
Nice, What kind of meter were they using?

tapout
05-30-2009, 12:46 AM
Holy run-on sentence batman.

scfaust
05-30-2009, 12:47 AM
i was told AC mic how big of a diffrence will i see on a tl also if i built a new box same size but tune it to 40hz insted of 35hz???

bunkerking09
05-30-2009, 12:49 AM
i was told AC mic how big of a diffrence will i see on a tl also if i built a new box same size but tune it to 40hz insted of 35hz???

it was on an AC?

nvm, i retract my previous statement. Its gonna make a big difference once you get on a TL

CobraStang98
05-30-2009, 12:56 AM
Holy run-on sentence batman.

x2... Hardcore run on sentence.

I was gonna say nice score too, until i saw the AC mic, not a bad score but until u get on the TL its kinda void. Also first link didn't work either.

alvitae
05-30-2009, 12:59 AM
I seen a drop of 5 decibels going from ac to termlab.

As far as tuning goes pull out the box you have now and throw in a single sub in a sealed box and meter tones to see what you rig's frequency is. Then play around with about 5 or 6 hertz lower for spl. May or may not sound like *** but with good box and port size it will be loud.

bunkerking09
05-30-2009, 01:02 AM
I seen a drop of 5 decibels going from ac to termlab.

As far as tuning goes pull out the box you have now and throw in a single sub in a sealed box and meter tones to see what you rig's frequency is. Then play around with about 5 or 6 hertz lower for spl. May or may not sound like *** but with good box and port size it will be loud.

Just because its sealed doesn't mean its getting the RF of the vehicle. Its still getting it on the box. It will take multiple sealed boxes at different sizes to see what the vehicles resonant frequency is.

mlstrass
05-30-2009, 01:04 AM
if it's the AC190 then it could be VERY close. We metered on an AC a few weeks ago and then on a TL and the AC was .1 higher and the TL was after numerous demo's, so they might have been exact on fully charged batts...

But I've heard the 160 is WAY off and the local comp this weekend is using one, so I expect to break 150 LOL

alvitae
05-30-2009, 01:07 AM
Just because its sealed doesn't mean its getting the RF of the vehicle. Its still getting it on the box. It will take multiple sealed boxes at different sizes to see what the vehicles resonant frequency is.

I take it back then just build another box 5 hertz higher and go for broke.

scfaust
05-30-2009, 01:08 AM
http://www.stevemeadedesigns.com/board/index.php?showtopic=28071&st=420
this is the build log of the guy who beat me

PioneerSPL1990
05-30-2009, 01:13 AM
now i fell loud if theres a 5dB drop from AC to TL and i have half the Equipment you do.:laugh::eek:

bunkerking09
05-30-2009, 01:17 AM
now i fell loud if theres a 5dB drop from AC to TL and i have half the Equipment you do.:laugh::eek:

1. You fail at spelling.

2. You shouldn't, he can probably do that all day. Congrats, you can do what most of the people on this forum can do by running 148+ with a few 10's/12's. He also did it at 35 hz. And I would put money on it that he could do that all day.

bunkerking09
05-30-2009, 01:20 AM
I take it back then just build another box 5 hertz higher and go for broke.

I wasn't trying to be a jerk. Just saying you can't throw in a sealed box and base it off that. Actually your suggestion is probably the most feasible for the OP. Thats what I would do.

Cameron_B
05-30-2009, 01:20 AM
1. You fail at spelling.

2. You shouldn't, he can probably do that all day. Congrats, you can do what most of the people on this forum can do by running 148+ with a few 10's/12's. He also did it at 35 hz. And I would put money on it that he could do that all day.

Money says he didnt do it at 35hz

alvitae
05-30-2009, 01:24 AM
Yea, I think it's the best way for regular guys like us that don't have much along the lines of testing equipment or tons of knowledge.

I've been wanting to try aero ports and cutting off a little bit at a time til it peaks like I have read about. But haven't got around to it yet.

scfaust
05-30-2009, 01:25 AM
Money says he didnt do it at 35hz

why would u say that, wenn do wenst designed the box. its like 7 cu ft after port displacement tuned at 35hz that what i was told how do i prove it to u sir.

bunkerking09
05-30-2009, 01:27 AM
Yea, I think it's the best way for regular guys like us that don't have much along the lines of testing equipment or tons of knowledge.

I've been wanting to try aero ports and cutting off a little bit at a time til it peaks like I have read about. But haven't got around to it yet.

That's how most guys do it. Then play with box size and port area. It gets to be such a long process, and a lot of wood lol.


why would u say that, wenn do wenst designed the box. its like 7 cu ft after port displacement tuned at 35hz that what i was told how do i prove it to u sir.

Just because the box is tuned there it doesn't mean that's your peak. I've had boxes built to 35-37 and peaked at 48-50 :crazy: Its weird but it happens, there are tons of factors that contribute to it.

CobraStang98
05-30-2009, 01:28 AM
Seems like the AC 160 mic, this is from the build log that the OP posted about the guy who beat him -----


comp today, AC mic. i won the 3rd class with a 154.2 sealed on the dash at 44hz. then i won outlaw and my first run i maxxed out the meter and it maxed at 160 db. we saw 160.4 then it flatlinned, so they had me go agian after they adjusted somting and i pulled a 156.7 in the kick fanning drivers side door. I was loudest at show by far. closest other compediter was 149.4 and he had 2 lvl 4's 15" on a sundown 3k and that was sealled, and then on outlaw closest was like 150.6. and they all was 6" from port, there was only one other person that fanned door so i mean, noobs.

Seems like they adjusted the K-factor on the Mic, pretty sure the AC 190 goes up to 190dbs also. If its the AC160 the mic is WAY off of the TL and can be adjusted so u can get louder scores by simply tuning a knob.

scfaust
05-30-2009, 01:29 AM
this is the link to my box
http://www.caraudioclassifieds.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8620&page=2

alvitae
05-30-2009, 01:29 AM
why would u say that, wenn do wenst designed the box. its like 7 cu ft after port displacement tuned at 35hz that what i was told how do i prove it to u sir.

I think he missed the part that says you were playing music and not doing a 35 hz tone. Box tuning doesn't mean thats what he was playing.

Edit: I'm running my old trunk box (subs up port up) in my crx right now and it's tuned to like 60ish? I think.

My car is loudest with that box at 54 tones and I have 2 12's and 2 1000 watt amps and do 150 on that mic.

scfaust
05-30-2009, 01:30 AM
That's how most guys do it. Then play with box size and port area. It gets to be such a long process, and a lot of wood lol.



Just because the box is tuned there it doesn't mean that's your peak. I've had boxes built to 35-37 and peaked at 48-50 :crazy: Its weird but it happens, there are tons of factors that contribute to it.

i see i thought he meant the box wasnt tune to 35hz sorry

bunkerking09
05-30-2009, 01:33 AM
i see i thought he meant the box wasnt tune to 35hz sorry

Nah, you probably built it right bro, its stuff like impedence rise, port resistance, port placement, etc. The list goes on forever lol