PDA

View Full Version : Aero port help



4OZGLOVES
05-29-2009, 09:38 AM
Well I decided I was going to attempt to make my first box this weekend and was looking for some other peoples opinions if this seems right. The box is for a fi bl 18. I was going to use aero's just for the fact it seems much easiers than a slot design. Shooting for 8 cubes tuned at 35, One 6 inch aero and going by the calculator it says the port should be 3.39" long. Being that this my first box any advice would be greatly appriciated.

Lakota
05-29-2009, 09:55 AM
Man, that's a pretty big box for a 18. 1 6" areo isn't going to be nearly enough, you will need at least 2 6" aero's.

4OZGLOVES
05-29-2009, 09:59 AM
So should i maybe cut the size down a bit? Fi recomends 6-10 cubes I figured I would just go right in the middle for it, and the port length calc said 1 6" at a little over 3 inches long which did not sound right to me either.

4OZGLOVES
05-29-2009, 10:19 AM
Ok did some more calculating if I drop the box size to 7 cubes with 2 6" aero's at around 13" of length each it would put my tuning at 35. Does this sound better?

mazdakid
05-29-2009, 10:20 AM
The 3" long port is right, its just not enough port area for that box. Get 2 6" aeros for that box, and maybe make the box a little smaller too.

adas
05-29-2009, 11:54 AM
Ok did some more calculating if I drop the box size to 7 cubes with 2 6" aero's at around 13" of length each it would put my tuning at 35. Does this sound better?that'll work :)