PDA

View Full Version : deisgn for 12" SPL



kyleorsini
05-27-2009, 04:50 PM
just got a mach 5 spl thanks to mark :D and i need a design done up max height is 15" and width 38 max. depth would be the variable.
i want it 3 cubes at 36hz, double baffle (flush mount). need some braces inside the box and some angle pieces for the corner. thankss :D

DNick454
05-27-2009, 05:23 PM
The box I designed for you to Mach 5 specs wasn't what you were looking for? I kinda thought their box was a bit too small and tuned too low. Refresh me what the specs were, I think around like 28Hz or something with only 2 cubes.


EDIT: Actually, I was looking at the specs, SPL 12 is 3 cubes @ 36Hz. Did you have an IXL 12 before?

Skip01
05-27-2009, 07:30 PM
Why you want 3cu?

I had my SPL12 in 2cu @ 40hz....147@ 44hz on dash

DNick454
05-27-2009, 10:45 PM
Keep in mind, you're running TWO AQ220D's so you need to have a small box for the mechanical power handling aspect. Also, that's a rather high tune for a daily setup. 3 cu. @ 36 per recommended by Mach 5 would sound like a much more reasonable setup for some str33tb3atz.

Skip01
05-27-2009, 11:08 PM
Keep in mind, you're running TWO AQ220D's so you need to have a small box for the mechanical power handling aspect. Also, that's a rather high tune for a daily setup. 3 cu. @ 36 per recommended by Mach 5 would sound like a much more reasonable setup for some str33tb3atz.

Bah...i could play anything ...30hz and all. :D

I still say 2cu - 2.5cu for biggest.

kyleorsini
05-28-2009, 12:55 AM
nick i did have a ixl before, and the box you did up for me sounded great after i got a woofer that worked and after i got it and after other problems mark graciously upped me to a SPL.
i will be running this at 1ohm with my orion 2500D so 2400rms. for daily use. currently i have it wired to 4 ohm (1200rms) untill i can get my amp set properly and its in the 1.8@33 hz box u did for me nick and its awsome. im doing 3 cubes at 36hz cuz thats what marks recomended. if people have used it and think i should do something different chime in. id like to be doing this box tomorow night if possible :D

kyleorsini
05-28-2009, 08:10 PM
anyone have some input??

Skip01
05-28-2009, 08:11 PM
I said my piece on my actual experience with the sub

kyleorsini
05-28-2009, 08:13 PM
yess im aware, im looking for some more. mark gave me some port dimensions for the box dimensions i gave him so im thinking of that just wanna see some more.

DNick454
05-29-2009, 01:26 AM
What are your trunks max dimensions, double baffle I assume since that thing can really pound, and I would guess you would want flush mounted correct?

Random1010
05-29-2009, 01:29 AM
Skip knows his ****, so I'd say 2 cubes.

Lakota
05-29-2009, 01:38 AM
I had mine in about 2 cubes, and had two 3000d's @ 1 ohm strapped on it. 149 dB at the head rest @ 45 hz :)

kyleorsini
05-29-2009, 11:25 AM
i currently have puggsley doing a design for me when he has
some free time so im goood now :D

mrogowski
05-29-2009, 11:38 AM
If you're burping, go with Skip's suggestion.

If you are running daily, 2-3 cubes, 36-38Hz tuning.

kyleorsini
05-29-2009, 11:53 AM
thxx mark, like i said ones being designed up for me now but i have one already from another forum if someone wants to check it see if its good then ill just stick with that :D

2.2 cubic feet tuned @ 38.5hz

Cut Sheet:
Top - 30"x15.75"
Bottom - 30"x15.75"
L Side - 15"x12.5"
R Side - 13.5"x12.5"
Front - 26.75"x12.5" (2x)
Back - 30"x12.5"
Port 1 - 11"x12.5"
Port 2 - 6.5"x12.5"
45 angles - 3"x12.5"

http://i39.tinypic.com/qs1hy1.jpg

mrogowski
05-29-2009, 12:05 PM
Hmmm... That port length looks kinda short. It looks like you will be tuned to around 41Hz.

kyleorsini
05-29-2009, 12:50 PM
reallly:crap:
think i should use that then mark and wait and
see what puggsley can draw up for me?

mrogowski
05-29-2009, 05:05 PM
Well, its not a bad thing. You probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference anyway.

kyleorsini
05-29-2009, 05:07 PM
Okay thx mark.

shellfish
05-29-2009, 05:49 PM
36hz...41hz why so high?
I've never dealt with mach 5 though, i suppose its best for the sub.

kyleorsini
05-29-2009, 11:44 PM
Mark will correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure its because of the drivers higher Fs