PDA

View Full Version : Moar box questions



MakeshiftAudio
05-27-2009, 06:37 AM
Alright, is about 5 cubes enough for an APXX 18"? :)

What about 2? :crazy:

But really. I have a box design, and a skp/sketchup for it, and it is (according to RE's box designer) 4.961 cubes, tuned to 36.2Hz and has a total port area of 99.375in^2. This is after compensating for a full double top baffle.

I would tune a little bit higher or figure out how much to take off for the braces.

Should I tune a bit lower by changing the width of the port to something like 7 or 6.5 and guestimate the displacement of the woofer to try to set the frequency to 36? Or should I just go 38+?

Blah, imageshack.us is giving me a problem, so I can't upload pics of it all.

Edit:

http://i664.photobucket.com/albums/vv3/MakeshiftAudio/NormalAltimaBox.jpg

http://i664.photobucket.com/albums/vv3/MakeshiftAudio/REBox1.png

MakeshiftAudio
05-27-2009, 01:57 PM
Bump? :crazy:

MakeshiftAudio
05-27-2009, 03:09 PM
No one? :(

DNick454
05-27-2009, 05:21 PM
Your port area is good, you could probably go a little less, maybe around 80-90, but I would make the box bigger. 36Hz in 4.9 cubes will not do you so well once the sub is actually loaded into the box. Then you'll be looking at probably like 4.7 cubes @ 37-38Hz. I would make it as big as you possibly can and tune lower than you need because that sub will displace quite a bit of internal volume as well as any other bracing RE calculator will not account for.

MakeshiftAudio
05-27-2009, 06:52 PM
Soooo...


Do I need the corner braces then? With the RE calculator, I just lowered the box height .75" to account for the double baffle.

Well, the box by itself is rather small, with only 6.85 cubes total internal volume before anything. If I do 6.5" port, and 33.3Hz with 5.24 cubes and 86.125" port area, would that work better? :P

The other idea for getting more are is this, but no one wants to make it:

http://i664.photobucket.com/albums/vv3/MakeshiftAudio/AngleNissanAltimaBox.jpg