PDA

View Full Version : Decently Priced Speakers + amp for SQ? A few questions!

jer_hong
05-24-2009, 05:40 AM
First off, hello to everyone on these forums. This is my first post, and I'm very new to car audio, which is why I've made my way to these forums. I'm currently building up the various parts for my system, and I'm now searching for speakers to complete my system. I listen to reggae and rap mostly, but I'm not too interested in super bangin' bass, just great sound quality that's nice on the ears.

I currently have a JL w0-4 sub which will likely be hooked up to a JL 250/1 amp. I just purchased a Pioneer DEH-6000ub head unit. So, now my next step is to get speakers, as well as an amp to power them. I plan on using the headunit to power the rear speakers just for rear fill, so I suppose I'll be needing suggestions for a 4 channel amp to run with speakers and tweeters.

I'm looking for 6"x8" (2 5/8" depth) speakers or 5"x7" speakers (I heard all 5x7's can be mounted in the same space, is this correct?) OR anything that'll fit in that size, and 1" (2" depth) tweeters. I'm not a serious audiophile or anything, but like I said, I'd like good SQ coming from these speakers. I'm very lost in terms of where to start looking, as there's just so many brands out there with so many variations, and I don't know what each of the different qualities of a speaker do in terms of how they're heard.

So basically could any of you point me in the right direction in terms of brand and #'s/specs i should be looking for? I'm not looking to spend too much $, maybe around $200-300 for all 6 speakers? If that's completely unreasonable, I'm willing to spend more, but I figured you'd all want a number to work around (since "expensive" is a very relative term).