PDA

View Full Version : DPH7300 Clarion



TheRealHotRod
05-23-2009, 10:30 PM
I received a Clarion DPH7300 & am curious which head unit it goes to. Any help you could give me would be FANTASTIC! Thanks in advance!

smgreen20
05-24-2009, 03:34 PM
Where to start???

1995"
Tape decks
ARX7170, 8170, 9170
CD
DRZ8175, 9175 (I had a 9175 before it was stolen)

1996:
Tape decks
ARX7270, 8270, 9270
CD
DRX8275, 9275
COMBOS
ADX8255
VIDEO
VRX8271

1997
TAPE
ARX7370
CD
DRX7375, 9375 (I have the 9375- replace the stolen 9175)
COMBO
ADX8255
VIDEO
VRX8271

1998
TAPE
ARX7470
CD
DRX7475, 9375
COMBO
ADX8255
VIDEO
VRX8271

In 1999 they switched from the C-Bus to the CeNet. Any other questions just ask. I'm a clarion freak and have all their brochures from '96, 97, 98, 99, 2000, 02, 04, 05, and 06 then we lost our clarion dealer. :(

Mike Pfeifer
08-01-2009, 12:03 PM
Any other questions just ask. I'm a clarion freak and have all their brochures from '96, 97, 98, 99, 2000, 02, 04, 05, and 06 then we lost our clarion dealer. :(

Hi, I'm new here, but have been into car audio for a long time.

I bought a DRX9375R years ago, either in 97 or 98, dont remember for sure. I still have it and was thinking of installing it in my current car, but I have a problem. I need an auxilary input as I have a PC under my passenger seat that has all my music on it (touchscreen in dash, etc.)

I have searched the net and found that it's next to impossible to get audio into the H/U unless you hack the C-bus cable and run a dummy CD changer while audio is coming in through the C-bus cable from the aux source.

Now, I have a DPH7300 processor as well. I am wondering if there is a way to get an aux input with this in the system as well.

So what I am thinking here is that I can wire up a simple RCA 2 pair in / 1 pair out switch, and just flip a switch when I want to listen to the aux source. This would be placed between the 9375R and the DPH7300.

So here is the question: When the 9375R is connected to the DPH7300 (via RCA), where does the volume processing take place? Does the H/U send a constant level signal to the processor? Does the processor make the volume adjustments when you change them on the H/U? (this would make the most sense to me, but that doesn't mean it's the way it works.)

I hope you get what I am asking here.

smgreen20
08-01-2009, 01:25 PM
Of course the HU has the volume control and signal to increase/decrease the volume will be sent down the C-bus cable to the DPH7300 and from there the 7300 will control the volume.

One thing you'll want to lookout for is when a Clarion processor is connected, the HU drops the output voltage of the HU to 1.8v, so if your outboard (aux source) source doesn't put out that much or to much, it COULD cause issues.

It might be your best bet to get an RF module for the AUX source you want to add.

Mike Pfeifer
08-02-2009, 02:34 AM
It sounds like you are confirming what I figured to be the case: the H/U sends out a constant audio signal (either MAX or RMS 1.8v you say?) on the purple non-fading subwoofer RCA outputs and the small DIN cable (looks like an S-Video cable) sends the commands for volume and other stuff to the processor where the actual volume adjustment is made before sending out to the amps.

Matching the 1.8v will not be a problem, and that being the case, should make for a much better quality audio signal than an RF modulator. I am really trying to stay away from the RF idea for that reason alone.

Sorry for being overly redundant, but I really want to be sure this can be done before I go tearing into my car again. I have been sitting on the 9375R for a few years now, and have lately really been itching to get it in my car again. It has some features that you just cant find in any modern H/U anymore, and the sound quality really was the best I remember from a H/U. I switched over to Alpine several years ago when they came out with a H/U that could play a CDR with MP3's on it, but have been less than impressed. Now I use it for the aux input from the carputer where all my music is currently stored. I just wish the 9375R had that option. HD radio would be nice too, but thats just being greedy ;)

Louisiana_CRX
08-02-2009, 02:42 AM
I liked the older Clarion stuff my self...I have a few pieces left but have sold or traded most.....