PDA

View Full Version : Will this work?



kfx450r
05-18-2009, 04:42 PM
Just bought a new amp for my sub. Now i have this old sony 2 channel amp. Says 450x1 at 2 ohm rms..(i know overrated but not the point), but on factory speakers my sub with this amp on it badly overpowered my music so with 800 watts going to it i feel i need some 6x9s. My question is..can i wire 4x 2 ohm 6x9s to this amp? Also with this amp and a hifonics 1500 would I need an extra battery of some sort with the hifonics being run at 2 ohm. Im doing the big 3 and all 0 gauge wire, could I get away with this? Or would it be a must to add anoter battery like a hc600 or 800 or something. I wanna be able to wire all 4 6x9s to a final 2 ohm load to the amp so it should be about 100wrms x 4. Ultimatly if this cant be done id be fine with just 2 6x9s if that makes things easier, but i planned on just turning off all my stock door speakers and just having the 6x9s.

fasfocus00
05-18-2009, 04:48 PM
Just bought a new amp for my sub. Now i have this old sony 2 channel amp. Says 450x1 at 2 ohm rms..(i know overrated but not the point), but on factory speakers my sub with this amp on it badly overpowered my music so with 800 watts going to it i feel i need some 6x9s. My question is..can i wire 4x 2 ohm 6x9s to this amp? Also with this amp and a hifonics 1500 would I need an extra battery of some sort with the hifonics being run at 2 ohm. Im doing the big 3 and all 0 gauge wire, could I get away with this? Or would it be a must to add anoter battery like a hc600 or 800 or something. I wanna be able to wire all 4 6x9s to a final 2 ohm load to the amp so it should be about 100wrms x 4. Ultimatly if this cant be done id be fine with just 2 6x9s if that makes things easier, but i planned on just turning off all my stock door speakers and just having the 6x9s.

point of 4 6x9s? you will either get a 1 ohm load or 4 ohm load with 4 unless you can find a 6x9s with 2 ohm coils. you don't need another battery to run the stuff you're planning.

KyleBechtold
05-18-2009, 04:50 PM
if its a two channel just pair the 6x9s to a channel.. 2ohm load that way