View Full Version : port size

05-17-2009, 01:30 PM
how do you know if you have enough port? ex. 2 12's in a box with 4 cubes after port disp.would 2 4 inch ports be good or would i need more
this is a daily beater with about 1500 rms on each 12

05-17-2009, 01:38 PM
2 4 inch ports per sub would be o.k.....rule of thumb is 12-16 square inches of port per cubic foot of air space. 16 has always worked for me.if you got 2 cubes youd need between 24 and 32 inches of port ...16 inches long would tune to 40hz,which is a good overall tunage. 2 4 inch ports equals 24 inches of port, 12 sq inches for each 4 inch port.....6 inch ports equal roughly 28 ichches of port. good luck.and with that much power i'd try to go with the upper end of 32 inches of port.

05-17-2009, 01:53 PM
nvr mind