PDA

View Full Version : help me with a home reciever



trevor87
05-12-2009, 03:11 AM
Need a new home reciever but this is my first purchase all my old ones were given to me. Not sure how the power is supplied and setup for speakers etc.

I need one i can connect a few speakers to, i have towers with 50 rms 10s in them and 2 tweets and i have a center sub with 60 rms then my 2 bookshelf speakers. I have it all connected to my tv so my 360 and dvd player play through the surround. also wouldnt mind room to remove the towers and just upgrade to some ****** bookshelfs with speakers and midbass

also dont want to spend a fortune. its just for a basic home theater watching movies and playing guitar hero. like my movies to have bass in action parts etc so i want proper power to my sub

so i need to know how many channels to look for what kind of power from the channels etc.

Louisiana_CRX
05-12-2009, 03:32 AM
I know there are a lot fancier units out there but I still runn my Old School JVC I bought 10 years ago it was top of the line then....and still works fine today...its only a 5.1 but thats enough chs for me.....

gymfreak101
05-12-2009, 11:41 AM
here you go I am selling a reciever that you will not find cheaper that will help you with everything. http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6148906#post6148906

trevor87
05-12-2009, 05:51 PM
That really has more than i need. I really just need to be able to run sound out to my tv and 360. and then hook up 2 mid range book shelfs and a sub.

JimJ
05-12-2009, 05:57 PM
Are you looking for multichannel or just stereo? Wasn't very clear from your post.

I assume your sub has a plate amp already on it?

trevor87
05-13-2009, 01:38 AM
no the sub isnt powered but its only a dayton 8 that handles like 60 rms. I jsut wanna be able to run a sub and 2 or 4 bookshelfs for surround.

tonkpils
05-14-2009, 07:32 PM
then the reciever gymfreak is selling is what you need and you cant find it for a cheaper price. If you are wanting surround sound you need a multi channel reciever.

trevor87
05-15-2009, 01:16 AM
How about this one? Would it power my sub with 60 rms and still have enough left for some surround speakers? buddy has one for 50 bucks
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Products/HomeEntertainment/AV-Receivers/PioneerReceivers/VSX-D411?tab=B

dumple
05-15-2009, 01:19 AM
well gheto style it would power your sub you would need an external amplifier for this to work

trevor87
05-15-2009, 01:58 AM
this is why i started this thread. why do i need a plate amp for a 60 rms woofer? do the recievers not put out that kind of power? i have my sub hooked to a ****** reciever now and it sounds iffy but i cann tell it will take more.

how would that reciever be for everything else if i did buy a plate amp

IDSkoT
05-15-2009, 02:06 AM
well gheto style it would power your sub you would need an external amplifier for this to work

That's... not true.

If you just make an X-over, which, you can make a simple one, and connect it in line, it will run your sub just fine. No need for an external amp / processor. Just wire it into the center channel.

IDSkoT
05-15-2009, 02:09 AM
How about this one? Would it power my sub with 60 rms and still have enough left for some surround speakers? buddy has one for 50 bucks
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Products/HomeEntertainment/AV-Receivers/PioneerReceivers/VSX-D411?tab=B

You should know better, man... you didn't tell us the nominal resistance.

Is it 2, 4, or 8-ohms?

I would probably get that off your buddy. If you think the sub is getting too much power, put it in a smaller box.

I didn't read the whole thread (since I'm tired.) But, you can mess with the resistances so that they will all be getting their max power when the sub is getting the max power, thus you're setting a relative max volume... then you can just keep the volume down.

trevor87
05-15-2009, 02:15 AM
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-480

thats my "sub" its not for music just xbox 360 and watching action movies

would like to be able to run that on the center channel then maybe the 4 satellites from this set
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-680

So can anyone reccomend me a reciever to power all those and connect my 360 and tv audio to?

dumple
05-15-2009, 02:20 AM
You should know better, man... you didn't tell us the nominal resistance.

Is it 2, 4, or 8-ohms?

I would probably get that off your buddy. If you think the sub is getting too much power, put it in a smaller box.

I didn't read the whole thread (since I'm tired.) But, you can mess with the resistances so that they will all be getting their max power when the sub is getting the max power, thus you're setting a relative max volume... then you can just keep the volume down.

on my receiver and all the ones if seen ive never seen anything but preouts for subs i would not wire it into the center channel unless the channel wasnt being used, I am still unclear on if OP wants a surround set up or just a stereo setup,

trevor87
05-15-2009, 02:22 AM
Just posted all the speakers i plan to run above. I have all my speakers. I have a tv and a 360. my current receiver is old and im moving into my own place so i want to upgrade to a receiver more for what i like. Just using the receiver to power all my speakers for when i watch tv and play 360.

dumple
05-15-2009, 02:24 AM
so you have 4 speakers and a sub?!

trevor87
05-15-2009, 02:38 AM
not now but i will before the setups all wired up. Or should i only run 2 and the sub?

dumple
05-15-2009, 02:40 AM
if you want surround sound iwould get a center and a powered sub and have 5.1 but

you could do stereo just using your towers and getting the plate amp as suggested

IDSkoT
05-15-2009, 02:42 AM
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-480

thats my "sub" its not for music just xbox 360 and watching action movies

would like to be able to run that on the center channel then maybe the 4 satellites from this set
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-680

So can anyone reccomend me a reciever to power all those and connect my 360 and tv audio to?

Well, with that, you need a 5.1 Receiver and a plate amp or a 7.1. But even still, those channels might not do sub-duty frequencies.

trevor87
05-15-2009, 02:48 AM
Well would the 5.1 work fine with just 2 satellites and my sub? I have no home audio knowledge so idk what to do here for a decent sounding setup.

i dont need anything fancy. but the receiver i have now is like 3ft tall lol some old sony and it ***** i need a space saver now. but it sounds decent with 2 satellites and this sub. id like maybe a little better sound tho

IDSkoT
05-15-2009, 10:05 AM
P.S. Your friend willing to sell me that receiver? Or trade it for an SK3? :D

And, yes, you can use specific pieces. Again, make sure that the receiver's channel will reproduce the ~300-10hz range... then you have to design an X-over for it.